Skip to content

We’re doing this thing!

November 3, 2012

I keep starting this blog post and then deleting it.  The fact is, I just don’t know what to say.  Words to express what’s in my heart have all been sucked straight out of me, I think.

Last January I kicked off Project Jubilee with this blog post, knowing that I was biting off more than I could chew.  It wasn’t just a step of faith.  It wasn’t even a leap.  It was more like being launched out of a giant slingshot.  No helmet.  No net.

I’ve told myself over and over that failure is not a possibility because it’s not my project anyway.   This is God’s deal, and so He’ll have to make it happen.  But sometimes it has seemed like progress is so slow, with the end looming ever closer.  I frequently have to shove the “what if I don’t make it?” thought out of my mind.  This is God’s deal…and He will make it.

I am not in control.  I am a conduit and I cannot control what flows through.  My only choice is to let it flow, or not let it flow.

Yikes.

But I do have some really great and encouraging news to report today:  with eleven weeks left to go, Project Jubilee is now 74% funded!  How incredibly awesome is that?  74% closer to funding a rescue mission for someone– maybe multiple someones– oppressed by slavery.  74% closer to giving someone a new life that they have no power to gain for themselves.  74% closer to restoring someone’s dignity by removing them from degrading and inhuman conditions that they would never choose.

I am so excited!  And so awed.  And so humbled.

If you have contributed, thank you.  Thank you for participating in my dream, because I believe it’s straight from the heart of God.  If you haven’t yet participated, please consider doing so.  Any amount takes us closer to the goal.  Any amount helps.  I never see a penny of it personally; all contributions (tax deductible, of course) go through a professional fundraising site.  And if you really can’t participate by giving, maybe you can help spread the word by sharing my Project Jubilee FirstGiving page on your Facebook or blog.

This is my project, and yet,  it’s really not.  It’s our project.  When you do anything to help or promote Project Jubilee, you get ownership.  You are a freedom fighter and a blesser.

And that’s an awesome thing for you to be.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 8, 2012 10:42 pm

    I’d love to donate again. Waiting on some paychecks…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 399 other followers

