Skip to content

What if the alternative reality is the true reality?

December 9, 2013

While lunching in a sports bar today, I saw three different snowy NFL games broadcast, one of them in snow so deep that I had no idea how the players were dealing with snow in their cleats and socks.  They had to clear the yard lines with snow plows and shovels just to be able to tell where they were on the field.  I was glad I wasn’t sitting in any of those stadiums.  But I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t envious of their weather.  I miss snow and winter.  I don’t need long seasons of it in order to have my fill, but in this part of Florida we don’t get any.

Instead, we had strange fog today.  Fog doesn’t happen much here; we might see it once or twice a year, tops.  But today the entire area was socked-in with heavy, damp fog, some patches too misty to avoid the use of windshield wipers in the van.

As I drove across the bridge this morning I glanced down at my dashboard and saw that it was 67 degrees outside.  It was so strange…there was nothing to the left or the right but white.  It occurred to me that if I didn’t know better, I’d think that the white fog was actually white snow.  I pictured it as such and immediately felt colder.

IMG_0783

 

It was strange how just the thought of it being snowy outdoors affected my belief system about what it felt like out there.  Sure, my dash thermometer said 67.  But it looked like 30.

Our lives are full of things that look one way but are really another.   There are usually pretty dire consequences for believing the wrong things.  It is vitally important that we only agree with that which is actually true, and not just that which looks true, or feels true, or seems true.  Otherwise we empower something untrue simply by believing in it.

So…you may feel as if you have no real purpose in life, but that’s not true.  God has His eye especially on you, to do good to you.

And it may look as if your situation is hopeless and you’re going to be stuck forever, but that’s not true.  Hope is a great lubricant for stuck-ness, and it’s ok to believe against the odds.

And it may seem that nobody sees you or believes you are capable of great things, but that’s not true either.  You were created for mighty exploits, daring feats of counter-cultural love and grace and power that represent the love of a Father to an orphan-hearted world.

What you believe matters.  It shapes who you are and what you’re willing to do.

I miss a good snowstorm, but I’m glad I don’t have to shovel fog.

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2013 7:46 am

    I really needed this, having a hard time shifting from believing what I think rather than what I know!

    • December 9, 2013 10:37 am

      Joann, I could not have said that more profoundly than you just did.

  2. December 9, 2013 10:23 am

    There you go preaching to my soul again! Great post!

  3. December 9, 2013 6:00 pm

    I loved this post. I “Pressed It”. Not sure if I did it right, but hopefully, your post will go to those who are following me. :D

    • December 9, 2013 6:44 pm

      It appears it did. Thank you so much for sharing, and for your encouraging comments! You’re a great encourager!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 311 other followers

