Skip to content

You too?

December 16, 2013

A few days ago I was toodling about in the dressing room of the master bathroom, doing my makeup and hair and getting ready for the day.

Note:  I wish my fairy godmother would wave her wand over me and relieve me of the daily chore of making myself hygienic and presentable.  Alas, the old bat hasn’t been seen in four months.  I heard something about another bar fight and some biker dude losing a couple more teeth, and since she was already out on parole I suspect she’s on the lam again.  Why can’t I have one of those nice pink tutu fairy godmothers?

Anyway, the bathroom.  Although I prefer quiet in my house most of the time, my mornings are sometimes an exception to that.  I have a little sound system wired into my dressing room area.  For years I’d play CDs, but the CD player went kaput, and the system was acquired before everything under the sun was wired for iPods.  My only option now is the radio, and so…I listen to the radio.

As I was listening on this particular day, I was struck by what I heard in a span of about 20 minutes.

First, John Mellancamp sang:

“Educated in a small town…taught to fear Jesus in a small town…”

And then Depeche Mode sang:

“Your own personal Jesus:
Someone to hear your prayers,
Someone who cares.
Your own personal Jesus:
Someone to hear your prayers,
Someone who’s there…”

And then Dishwalla sang:

“Tell me all your thoughts on God
‘Cause I would really like to meet her
And ask her why we’re who we are.
Tell me all your thoughts on God
‘Cause I am on my way to see her
So tell me am I very far, am I very far now?”

I froze momentarily.  Was I really hearing correctly?   I knew each of these songs, but it wasn’t until they were strung together in short order that I really heard them.  This wasn’t a Christian radio station.  I don’t listen to those anyway.  This was what you might find on any random spin around the radio dial, except I heard it all on one mainstream station.

And it sounded like hunger.

These aren’t the only songs of this type out there.  I’ve seen believers get their undies in a twist when they hear these sorts of things, feeling that the songs are somehow disrespectful or bad theology or whatnot.  Of course they’re bad theology…they’re being sung by folks who don’t know God and are trying to get Him defined into a form they can comprehend.  I’m all for giving them the freedom to do it poorly.  I don’t think God is nearly as put off by that as His kids often are.

He is very clear in the scriptures:  those who seek Him will find Him.

I wonder how many accidental journeys have ended up smack dab in the middle of the heart of the Father?  How many idle curiosities sparked an insatiable hunger for the Infinite and Holy?  We may think we wandered our way found, but in truth, all along we were drawn by Someone who deeply desires to be known by the very people who are wondering if He’s knowable.

The people who still haven’t found what they’re looking for.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2013 8:59 am

    YES! (Oh my goodness!) Too much going through my head right now. This is so, so on-point, Sparky. We’ve formulated what the drawing of the Holy Spirit MUST look like and gotten it all wrong in the process. I just say let God do what he does…and how ’bout we climb aboard what he’s doing, starting by truly loving those who want to know him. Excellent.

    • December 16, 2013 9:04 am

      And we need to realize that those who are looking for Him often don’t know that. They just know they’re hungry, and they’re busy trying to shove anything and everything into that God-sized hole just to FEEL something.

  2. lanavaughan permalink
    December 16, 2013 9:01 am

    Cool ending with a U2 lyric!

  3. December 16, 2013 10:34 pm

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 310 other followers

