Skip to content

There’s an app for that

December 17, 2013

I have a weather app on my iPhone.  If I open it, it tells me the outside temperature here in my little town.

But I work in Destin.  I really need to know the temp in Destin, because even though I live only a few miles from it there are often several degrees difference in the temperature.  So I added Destin to my weather app.

And sometimes I like to know what sort of weather my loves are experiencing.  So I also have Baton Rouge, Scott AFB in Illinois,  Nashville, and Marietta, Ohio.

Oh, and New York City, because somehow, knowing the weather in New York makes me feel slightly cooler than someone who doesn’t know the weather in New York, and I need all the help I can get in the cool department.

I also added Rome, Italy.  Because someday I’m going to go there, and when I do, I’ll be prepared.  I know that’s not logical, but nobody is paying me to be logical, and therefore I will look at the weather in Rome ifn’ I wanna.

As I was flipping through my weather app pages it occurred to me that most people probably don’t do this.  They don’t load up their weather app with places they neither live nor visit on a frequent basis.  But there’s something about knowing the temperature of a place that makes me feel I understand it better.  And it reminds me that temperature isn’t just about Fahrenheit or centigrade.  Some places are feverish in the winter, and some are nigh frozen even when the mercury is soaring.

It’s important to know these things.

You’re secretly wishing I’d stop talking so you can go add New York City to your weather app, aren’t you?

FINE!  Some readers…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. lanavaughan permalink
    December 17, 2013 12:53 am

    Allan Island, Washington. :)

  2. December 17, 2013 1:33 am

    I don’t but I certainly have friends that have numerous places around the world and in Aus in their weather app. I just look out the window. :)

  3. Liz permalink
    December 17, 2013 6:02 am

    Well, darling seester, at least I’m as cool as you. I, too, have NYC on my phone well as Orlando, Paris, Rome, Athens, Glacier Natl Park & assorted locations of loved ones.

  4. December 18, 2013 6:59 am

    I’m cold, so I don’t want to know the temperature in New York. On the other hand..maybe Australia since it is summer there right now.

  5. hopetuttle permalink
    December 18, 2013 3:41 pm

    I do this too! I have niceville, Nashville, NYC, London and Atlanta!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 309 other followers

