Skip to content

Stinkerbell

May 23, 2014

Technology is grand.

This is not a good moment to ask me to define “grand”.

When the sound stopped playing on a phone game, I decided to reboot my phone.  I try to remember and do this now and then anyway, so the prompt was useful.

I just had no idea HOW useful.

Upon rebooting, my phone coughed up 29 photos sent to me via text.  It also coughed up 7 voicemails, some of them over a week old.

You will be happy to know that the Sparkette did not miss her dental appointment, in spite of the fact that I got the reminder four days after the aforementioned appointment actually occurred.

I am grateful for my communication device but a little dubious about how useful a communication device actually is if it fails to communicate.

Technology is magic, as far as I’m concerned. I don’t understand it; it’s not intuitive to me. I’m quite sure it’s fueled by pixie dust.  When my phone or computer go wacko, I’m lost if the fix requires more than turning them off and then turning them back on again.

I’m not savvy in the ways of pixie dust, I guess.

I’m wondering just what else might be hiding in the bowels of my smart phone…

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2014 7:13 am

    It’s a good thing that turning it on and off again winds up solving so many problems then. It’s kind of like finally realizing that it’s time to get some sleep when your own head is starting to scramble ideas and nothing seems quite right. Luckily, our devices only need about a minute of sleep every week or so.
    My other big problem is an accumulation of all the pixie dust from my pocket into the earphone jack.

    • May 23, 2014 8:30 am

      For all the precision required my scientific method, that pixie dust sure is messy stuff!

  2. Michelle permalink
    May 23, 2014 11:04 am

    I just sold two Tinkerbell ballpoint pens…funny.

    • May 23, 2014 11:41 am

      And now you’re wondering what the buyer is really going to do with them, aren’t you? Haha!

  3. May 24, 2014 9:56 am

    I wish I could say that I like phones, whether it be a land line or a cell phone, but in actuality, I hate all of them. I’m strictly a visual person. I’d rather have you knock at my door. It isn’t as annoying to me. I have a calendar on my computer that will flash reminders at me for appointments. I put in the appointment, and then set up the reminders — one for the day before and one about 2 hours before the set time on that day. My dentist is nice enough to send me an email 2 days before each appointment, which stops me from hating him because I usually hate all dentists.

    • May 24, 2014 10:03 am

      I don’t mind phones. I just don’t like TALKING on them! Haha!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 403 other followers

