Skip to content

Never letting go

May 26, 2014

Sometimes my life feels like I’m learning to ride a bike and God is running along beside me, holding the seat while I get my balance.  And at some point I actually do get my balance and squeal “I got this!”

And I can hear Him chuckle and say yeah…you got this!

I know He likes it when I learn things.  He is never threatened that I won’t need Him just because I become proficient at something.  I was created for excellence, after all.

Besides…He knows I’m a needy kid by nature.

I’ve felt the weight of my own neediness lately.  I’m not squealing “I got this!” about much of anything.

No…right now I’m probably more the clingy kid that He can’t peel off His leg.  I’m doing a lousy job keeping myself focused.  I’m doing a lousier job keeping myself encouraged.  And so I grab hold of the One who holds all focus and encouragement, waiting to find my center of gravity again, waiting for Him to blow on the embers and stir up some fire.

Thank heavens He’s got this.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2014 7:36 am

    Loved this! :)

  2. June 1, 2014 8:07 pm

    I’ve had this image in my head for over a decade now. Come to think of it, it appeared to me around the time you and I met. I close my eyes and imagine I’m sitting at His feet and holding the hem of his robe in my hands and burying my face in it. When I feel my weakest, this image always comes to me and comforts me. It’s a place I can escape to and a place I’ll one day go home to.

    • June 1, 2014 8:12 pm

      It’s beautiful, and I’ve had a very similar image get me through some tough stuff. I don’t think it’s just an image, though. I think our spirits really go there, and that is how we get strength and comfort. He is, after all, the Comforter.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 403 other followers

