Skip to content

Running with scissors…or nuclear weapons

February 19, 2010

I’ve been re-reading a book I really like.  It’s The Supernatural Ways Of Royalty by Kris Vallotton and Bill Johnson.  The book is about understanding our position as children of God and the rights, privileges and responsibilities bestowed upon us because of that high position.  This time I’ve been reading it with a highlighter.  Don’t know what good that does, though, when most of the book ends up fluorescent yellow.

A couple of days ago I ran across a section that really got me thinking.  Yeah, I know…dangerous.  Consider it scissors, and let’s go for a sprint!

This section was talking about how the really dangerous Christians are the ones who have overcome their fear of death.  Those are the ones who can truly advance the Kingdom, because they know they can’t be threatened with heaven.  They have counted the cost and decided that no matter what the risk, if it brings the Kingdom to earth or advances it, then it’s worth it.

This rare breed is mentioned in Revelation 12:11:

They overcame him
by the blood of the Lamb
and by the word of their testimony;
they did not love their lives so much
as to shrink from death.

The “him” mentioned in this verse is the great dragon, Satan, who has been battling with and accusing “our brothers”…the children of God.

Think about that.  That means being fearless in the face of death is actually a potent form of spiritual warfare.  It is far more deadly to our adversary than it is to us.

I’ve been thinking about what makes us afraid of death.  And every answer I can come up with leads me back to one basic, bottom-line issue:  flesh.  That stinky, rotten, vile, corrupted, dead stuff that we struggle to rise above. At least, it’s supposed to be dead.  But we don’t often do a very good job of crucifying it.  And that zombie flesh is aligned with darkness and sin, ready to listen to and believe dreadful lies whispered from the forked tongue of our enemy.  As a result we don’t see properly.  We enter into a belief system that places far too much value on this life, as if it were the real deal.  It’s not the real deal at all.  It’s just the pre-game.  A cloudy glass through which we see darkly.

There’s a terribly bitter fallout from this mindset.  You see, we not only decide we prefer safe lives for ourselves, we disciple our children in the ways of safety and self-preservation.  We ensure that the next generation grows up to be a complete and total non-threat to the kingdom of darkness.   They never develop a heart for honor or valor.  Overfed and undernourished, they develop a myriad of ways to convince themselves that it’s ok to let comfort and security be their gods.  They grow up to look just like their parents.

We live in a culture obsessed with safety and the fear of death.  And I don’t want to drink that koolaid.  I want to be obsessed with what I can do to advance the Kingdom of God.  I want to do the “greater things” Jesus talked about.  I want to carry so much Light that I effectively spoil every dark place I enter.  I want death to fear ME.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Joann permalink
    February 20, 2010 12:14 am

    Powerful stuff Lisa, I firmly believe that I am under more attack from Satan when he sees that I am in a period of growth and why not since that is when I am the most dangerous, more of that flesh stuff is dying. Thanks for sharing.

  2. March 5, 2010 12:57 pm

    Great post, Lisa!

Leave a Reply

