Skip to content

Why I’ve been so quiet…

March 12, 2010

I know, I know.  I’ve not been writing much here.  I haven’t even been keeping up with posts about American Idol, and you’d think I’d at least be blogging about that.

I’ve been distracted.  Something big is looming. And here is my confession:  I don’t remember if I’ve even talked about it here on Hey Sparky.

You see, next week I hop on an aeroplane and I fly all the way to California.  I am even paying the big bucks to check a bag, because I’ll be there six days.  And because I’m a big weenie and I want to take my temper-pedic style pillow, and it only fits in a larger piece of luggage.

What can I say?  I love my pillow.

So, you may wonder, what am I going to be doing in California?

I will be speaking at a women’s conference.  I’ll be leading two sessions, but there’s a team of speakers so it’s a group effort.  Which is good because I’m not ready to do a whole retreat by myself, and the world isn’t ready for me to do a whole retreat by myself, either.  We’d all just run around all crazy with our hair on fire.  Which might be kinda fun and definitely a Kodak moment, but hardly productive.

I’ve spent months ruminating on this.  I’ve prayed and pondered and read.  I’ve spent weeks writing it and designing the sessions–the order, the music for worship and focus, any media clips.  The whole shebang.

And I’ve still got work to do.  CDs to burn, playlists to compile, speaking outlines to create.  Because though I’ve written the content of the sessions, I don’t want to be a reader.  I very much want to be a speaker.  Not tied to a page, but able to relate to an audience and speak without struggling to remember what it is I have to say about anything.

I’m a bit nervous about that part, to be honest.  By nature I am an introvert, a writer, and a responder.  Being in front of people doesn’t bother me, in spite of my introversion.  But doing this requires me to speak and to initiate.  It will be different for me, that’s for sure.  I’m counting on the Lord to give me what He wants me to say, even if it’s different from what He gave me to write.

So that’s where I’ve been.  That’s why I’ve been quiet.  I just don’t have a lot of extra brain cells for extraneous creativity, short of creating fabulous multi-layered jello molds for my adoring family.

Just kidding.  I don’t have any molds.  I make jello in a spare baking dish when my family is lucky enough to get it.  And I make sure they get it so infrequently that they think I’m a goddess when I do make it.  You too can be a goddess for less than a dollar a box.  But don’t be adding any weird stuff like celery or plopping Miracle Whip on top.  That is just gross.  Don’t tell my mom I said so.

If you’d like to check out what I’ll be doing, click Go Deeper Still for a trip through cyberspace.   You can play “Where’s Sparky?” on the site, even.  If you are so inclined, there are still some spots left for registration.  You can come see me in person.  But if you don’t like the message, please don’t throw anything harder than a marshmallow at me, though.

Gotta love a good adventure!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2010 1:17 am

    Personally I would rather use my marshmallows for roasting than for throwing so if you see me carrying a large bag don’t panic. I’m probably carrying a sharp stick too.

    Waiting to hear God’s heart filtered through your words next week!

    • March 12, 2010 1:25 am

      Why would I be comforted that you had a bag of marshmallows AND a sharp stick? You could put someone’s eye out with that! Like…MINE!

  2. March 12, 2010 8:33 am

    I know you’ll do fantastic because (1) you’re fantastic and (2) you’ve got God on your side.

  3. Judyhoo permalink
    March 12, 2010 10:23 am

    I know you will do a great job because you are seeking and leaning on God! I would so go…if it wasn’t in Cali.

  4. hopetuttle permalink
    March 12, 2010 4:18 pm

    So proud of you, moomah :)

  5. March 12, 2010 8:24 pm

    Continuing to pray and wishing I could hear you! By the way, I am completely with you on the celery in jello. That is absolutely GROSS. I don’t mind fruit chunks in jello, but anything else is just plain nasty.

  6. sandy permalink
    March 20, 2010 8:56 am

    ALL Jello is gross! (except jello pudding)

    and by the way I like your new HEADER for your blog. This I admit ashamedly is the first time I’ve seen it!

Leave a Reply

