Skip to content

Preparations

May 22, 2010

Some days you wake up and it doesn’t take long to realize that the day isn’t looking very promising.  I enjoyed about an hour of bliss this morning before my ignorance was squashed like a cricket in the kitchen.

We planned a gathering for the oldest Sparkette for this evening, a time to meet, chat, eat desserts, and pray over her before she heads out to China for two months.  Friends of ours who love Sparkette as if she were their own offered to host, so I said I’d bring the desserts.

I figured I’d get most of the work done yesterday, but yesterday was one of those days when I was hit with a massive case of inertia.  I would have been happy to sit and stare all day, willing to pay someone to go pee for me because it required too much energy and effort to get up and go do it myself.  I did get a Gooey Butter Cake made, Sparkette’s request, and I felt like I’d run a marathon by the time it was done.  One should never feel that way after making anything that has a box of cake mix as a main ingredient.  What could be so taxing about that? I knew the work would fall to today.  But I should have time, so it would be fine…right?

So this morning I get up and come downstairs, ready to work.  I was planning a strawberry pie and something that was yet undecided.  I pulled my last Pillsbury Pie Crust out of the fridge (don’t be hatin’…they’re really pretty good) and as I unrolled it I could see it didn’t look very good.  That section of the fridge sometimes freezes, and it was obvious the dough had frozen and dried out in spots.  Hmm.  I baked it anyway and decided that  ten minutes of intense heat didn’t improve it any, so I pitched it and decided I’d just make a half batch of my Aunt Sarah’s pie crust dough.  It would make at least three crusts, so maybe I’d make my third offering a lemon meringue pie.  I got out my food processor and started adding ingredients.  It was coming together beautifully, though I was annoyed to find I had ONE egg left in the house, and it would have to go in the dough.  Oh well. I added the liquids and hit “pulse” and realized immediately that I had successfully halved every ingredient on the list…except the water.  The batch of dough was ruined, and now I was out of eggs and shortening.  No way around it…Miss Daisy was going to have to go to da sto’, and Hoke wasn’t around to drive her.

By now I was feeling a bit tense and grumpy.  But I went to da sto’, fetched my items, and got hit with a flash of inspiration.  I would buy another box of roll-up pie crusts, make the strawberry pie, and then make my third dessert a batch of Rocky Road brownies.  The idea of a gooey brownie with a layer of marshmallow fluff and chopped salted almonds on top made me feel happy.  And so that is what I did.  The mere prospect of chocolate seemed to lift my spirits today.

By early afternoon I had a headache.  I took some medicine and laid down for a small nap.  Woke up with my head hurting even more.  Not good.  But I went downstairs and started drinking water, thinking maybe my tank was a bit low and that was why the headache wasn’t budging.  And it really did help.  In fact, from that point on thing just started getting a little easier.

The gathering was good.  Good folks came to encourage the Sparkette and love on her and pray for her.  It was great.

And the desserts that were the root of much angst in the morning?  The pie was KILLER, but I would expect nothing less from that strawberry pie recipe.  It can make mediocre berries taste fabulous, and these were GOOD berries.  The Rocky Road brownies were delish, too. I didn’t even eat any of the Gooey Butter Cake.  I used to like the stuff but now it’s too sweet for me.  And yet I can do the Rocky Road brownies.  Go figure.  The folks hosting the shindig hit up a young man we know to make some hot crab dip and some homemade salsa, and so we had quite a tasty little spread of eatin’ to go with our meetin’ and greetin’.

On Sunday the Sparkette heads toward Baton Rouge, and on Monday morning she and her friends fly out of New Orleans and off to China.  I won’t see her for two months.  I’ve gone two months without seeing her before, but it seems so much longer when she’s in China instead of Louisiana.  I think it’s knowing that at any given time I could see her if I just drove west for five hours.  But this is going to be a great trip for her.  God’s got great things in store, and this is the sort of experience that sifts and shifts and molds a person.  I’m excited to see what He’s going to do with her and for her and through her.  It’s already been an incredible ride.

And on a much more trivial note, I’m excited that there are some of those brownies left.  They’re going to be very tasty after lunch tomorrow.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2010 12:06 pm

    Praying for you both. Loving the Wild Goose Chase and thinking I may need to whip up a batch of brownies today after church.

  2. June 9, 2010 9:27 pm

    1. I’ll pay you to make me a strawberry pie.
    2. How about a post with updates regarding China?

    • June 9, 2010 9:45 pm

      You will die a thousand blissful deaths if you eat my strawberry pie. :)

      I need to ask Hope if it’s safe for me to blog about China, since my blog link is in my signature line and I don’t trust myself to remember to remove it before communicating with her. She’s already got good stories, though!

Leave a Reply

