Skip to content

Second verse, same as the first

May 27, 2010

This time last year I had visions of fresh organic veggies dancing in my head, all grown in the containers on my back deck.  The tomatoes were growing like weeds, and they were loaded with fruit.  I had a cucumber vine that was rapidly snaking up the sides of its cage.  A single jalapeno plant was already being prolific.  The herbs looked great.

And then this happened.  And this.  And then this.  In the end, I got…nothin’.  Well, some tasty jalapenos and a few herbs.

I said no way was I going to invest that kind of time and energy and money into feeding the damnrats again.  So this year I just planted herbs, three jalapeno plants, a cayenne pepper plant, and a bell pepper plant.  I’ve kicked around trying one tomato plant in an upside down five gallon bucket, but I haven’t yet figured out how and where to hang it so it gets enough sun but doesn’t just become squirrel food.

We are going to have a lot of jalapenos. WOOHOO!!!

We like fresh jalapenos.  Feel the burn, baby!

I would love to have a flourishing garden loaded with tomatoes, but it requires a lot of time and effort, as well as the willingness to stay up all night with night-vision goggles and a BB gun or maybe some hand grenades.  And I just don’t think I’m up for that.

Then again, it might be fun…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Spacey permalink
    May 31, 2010 11:17 am

    you know, a custom trained midget bengal tiger is all you need! It sure will be a…might I add ‘Majestic’ way to handle this situation :) (that night-goggle-BB-gun-grenade thing brought me visions of Sarah Connor fighting…lol)

    • May 31, 2010 11:52 am

      Now why didn’t I think of that?! The dog probably won’t want to go in the back yard anymore, but hey–we could potentially be squirrel-free!

Leave a Reply

