Skip to content

Late night lounge singers

June 12, 2010

The nights are noisy these days.  Last night Mr. Sparky and I stepped out of the house to take Jake on a w-a-l-k  (he can probably hear me just typing the word) and we were met with a deafening chorus of bug noises.  I don’t know exactly what makes those noises.  Katydids, maybe?  I really have no idea.  But the trees are alive with a cacophony of vibrations and rattles.  It’s not background noise.  Dem trees is alive, I tell ya.

Just last week I noted that frogs were making all the neighborhood noise.  Not the noise of spring peepers, but definitely the noise of small frogs wookin’ pa nub.  Lots of them.

Through it all, there’s yet another sound that begins in the wee small hours of the morning.  It chirps, it warbles, it trills, it sings.  It’s obviously midnight at The Oasis for some mockingbird.  The thing can sing for hours on end.  I always wonder just what mockingbirds accomplish by hollering their fool heads off all night long, because they have to be up early next day to quarrel with one another and eat bugs and dive bomb neighborhood cats. It’s usually just one making all that racket.  You don’t hear a chorus or even a conversation.  But that one mockingbird might as well be singing Handel’s Messiah from beginning to end, because it goes on forever.

I kind of like hearing them out there yodeling in the dark.  Mr. Sparky isn’t so fond because he wakes up just enough to wonder if those are the morning birds and it’s time to get up, and once he’s that awake, he might as well be all the way awake.  This is what happens when you get up at 5am every morning.  Hauling out in the near dark seems normal.

Hauling out in the near dark never seems normal to me.  I do it anyway a good portion of the year, but not at 5am, and never with the idea that this is normal or even remotely pleasant.  Gracious.

But I don’t mind waking up and hearing some loco bird performing an aria to an audience that went to sleep hours ago.  Maybe that bird simply sings for the joy of it.  Maybe it sings because that’s the only way it can get a solo in the chorus.  Or maybe it just has insomnia and there’s nothing interesting or useful on the late night infomercials.  You can’t use a flobee without opposable thumbs, you know.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2010 8:48 am

    haha…Lisa, when I first started reading this post I though “Oh good, Lisa has an answer to the chorus of bugs that is going on right now (as soon as dark hits). When you first walk out it truly does sound like crickets, but your ear is drawn to the trees….they are in the trees. Hmmm…..I stood there thinking last night (as I’m being lazy and letting the dogs in the back yard to do their thing instead of taking them on a w–a–l–k – dogs have a keen sense of hearing in my house too :P) are those crickets? They sure sound like crickets….but do crickets climb trees? Not up North they don’t, but maybe Southern crickets are different, maybe they climb trees. Then I thought, no…they’re Katydids have seen some of those around lately. However, I didn’t know they sang at night. Anyway, I am going to research this a little more because I am extremely curious as to what this is in the trees at night….if I find anything I’ll write about it on my blog.

    Oh and the bird…are you sure it’s a mockingbird? Those are interesting creatures for sure!! At my house I hear a bird of the night that sounds prehistoric….makes you almost afraid to go out at night haha!

    • June 13, 2010 4:42 pm

      Definitely a mockingbird. It’s a known mockingbird habit, and if you listen you can hear them run through all the other birds’ songs!

  2. June 13, 2010 5:08 pm

    there was a mockingbird that lived near our house in Germany that learned to mimic our alarm clock. So every morning at 5:00 the bird would mimic our alarm clock and it sounded just like it!! :)))

  3. Adrienne permalink
    June 14, 2010 2:46 pm

    I’m Vicky’s niece, Adrienne! I love your blog! You are a talented writer. I just started my blog about a week ago and I hope that it generates some traffic! I know I’ll keep visiting yours, and I’ll add you to my blogroll, too.

    Peace,
    Adrienne

    • June 14, 2010 4:08 pm

      Thank you, Adrienne! As your dashboard probably tattled on me, I visited your blog a few days ago, too. Keep up the good work!

  4. Adrienne permalink
    June 14, 2010 9:00 pm

    Yay! Blog friends!

  5. Spacey permalink
    June 15, 2010 3:33 am

    Hmmm, I think it is entirely possible that the little mocking bird might be complaining to its spouse about all the daytime noise that humans make in its surroundings – “Honey, that red-machine-thing that cuts grass blew my late afternoon sleep to shards…damn thing! ”

    Just seeing things from the bird’s perspective…thats all :)

Trackbacks

  1. Listen to the music of the night… « Upon My Word…

Leave a Reply

