Skip to content

Hey, battah battah battah

October 19, 2010
tags:

Sometimes life throws you a curve ball.  Sometimes life is a curve ball.  You have a split second to decide if you’re going to duck, watch it go by, or take a swing at it.  If you duck, you might get hit anyway. If you swing, you might miss or you might knock it out of the park.  The only option with a sure result is watching it go by.  If you watch it go by, the only thing that will happen is a missed opportunity and maybe a slight breeze.

The past month of my life has been a whirlwind.  Sometimes I feel like I can barely catch my breath.  As I look back I realize that in many ways it’s been far more of a whirlwind than I realized at the time it was happening.  Each individual event was important and noteworthy, but when you put them all together, it’s mind-boggling and more than a little overwhelming.  Because for the past month, it’s truly been life and death.  I’ve watched the circle of life up close and personal, and I’m not talking Lion King.

I suppose we’re surrounded by life and death every day and don’t even realize it.  It’s not often we become acutely aware of it, at least in our culture where the population lives in relative personal safety, at least for the most part.  Sometimes I try to become aware of it.  Sometimes when I’m in the middle of super joyful circumstances, I stop and think about how somewhere, somehow, a family is saying goodbye to a loved one who is passing from this life.  A family is broken by grief. I can’t even begin to really grasp what they are feeling, but I know this isn’t a vain imagination my part.  This is really happening somewhere.  Just not in my world where joy is reigning for the moment.

Life is a curveball.  I did a lot of swinging over the past month.  Sometimes I hit it.  Sometimes I missed.  Sometimes I was overjoyed.  Sometimes I was heartbroken.

But at least I was present at the plate.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2010 2:13 pm

    Well said. I adore you, you know that? {hugs}

  2. October 29, 2010 11:32 am

    i tink that Lion King should also be considered as one the best animated films on the market ,

  3. sandy sholar permalink
    November 7, 2010 3:13 pm

    Being present at the plate requires courage and perseverance.(and hanging on to Jesus for dear life) I should know. I spent too much of my life asleep in the dugout trying to escape reality.

  4. November 16, 2010 2:49 pm

    i would say that Lion King is one of the best animated films that i have ever watched ..*

Leave a Reply

