Skip to content

Present and accounted for

November 30, 2010

Since I’ve received a couple not-so-subtle hints in the past week that I’ve been away too long, it seems appropriate to assure you all that I have not a) died, b) run away to join the circus, or c) been sent to the slammer for mischief and folly.

I have written loads of scintillating posts, honest.  It’s just that my dog ate them.  Really.

Ok, not really.  But if he could, he would.  Especially if they smelt of bacon. Or cat food.

This is my first holiday season to work retail in over twenty-five years.  Black Friday is bigger and badder than ever, but thankfully, I wasn’t scheduled for the early shift.  I went to work at 5:00pm that evening, and it wasn’t bad at all.  Which is good, because I got sick the Tuesday night before Thanksgiving and by Friday evening I was somewhat better, but still pretty worthless.  When they offered to let me go home an hour early, I didn’t make them offer twice.  They were probably glad to see me go, since it’s usually not cool to have an associate standing around staring blankly and drooling on the merchandise.

I don’t shop Black Friday, personally.  I think it’s nuts.  I can’t think of anything I want badly enough to go stand in a line at 2am so I can get it for $10 less.  I would rather pay $10 extra to get to sleep in and buy it at 10am.  Or better yet, I’d rather just order it from the comfort of my computer chair and have it shipped to me.  I’ve already been doing that some.  I participated in Cyber Monday.  Not on purpose, though.  I just decided to shop and order some stuff and later I realized it was Cyber Monday.  I didn’t have to get up early or nothin’.  I didn’t even have to get out of my pajamas.  Now THAT, my friends, is my kind of shopping.

I’m hoping to get my shopping done soon so that I can focus on the beauty and purpose of the season without the distraction of all the “haftas”, some of which are going to be there anyway.  I really do love Christmas. I love the traditions.  I love that Jesus’ birthday is celebrated.  I love that even those who don’t know Him are given a reason to celebrate and give generously.  It’s just proof that He loves a good party, and He’s not picky about who shows up anymore than He was picky about where He first showed up on this earth.  I mean, seriously…a stable?   And the indignity of a tiny body that can’t control itself and is totally dependent on a teenage girl for food and survival?  But He was cool with it.  That really says a lot about who He is.

Tonight it is raining.  I love rain.  I’d rather it be snow, seeing as this is the last day of November and in reasonable latitudes, that means snow.  But I’ll gladly settle for rain.  I’m in where it’s warm and dry and I’m protected from the more outrageous acts of mischief and folly, thus assuring another night in my own bed instead of the county clink.  And that works for me.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 10:39 pm

    my Mom once was offered a job in the circus (and I was so mad she turned it down)….oh, and I can sympathize with working retail on Black Friday…I was there at 6:30am. It actually wasn’t too bad (if you aren’t claustrophobic)…the time flew by! Better to make money than spend it on that day :)

    oh, and in some “reasonable” latitudes, it’s still raining…just warm enough to melt on its way down to the ground, I guess…better rain than ice, though!

  2. Mr Sparky permalink
    November 30, 2010 11:49 pm

    Nice to have you back :)

Leave a Reply

