Skip to content

True confessions

December 12, 2010
tags: ,

I have a confession.  Brace yourselves, because I know that some of you will find this shocking and will be tempted to disbelieve me.  I assure you, however, that what I’m about to tell you is true.

There is a fruitcake I like.

I’m not talking about Mr. Sparky or any of the Spark progeny.  You didn’t think I could hear what you were thinking, did you?

No, I’m talking about real fruitcake.  That stuff we joke about at Christmas time.  The stuff with the (mostly deserved) reputation for being a Brick Of Nastiness.

The recipe belonged to my grandmother, and my mom made it every year when I was a kid.  It’s not one of those cakes that’s a log of candied fruit all mushed together into a solid mass, nor is it one of those booze-soaked concoctions that get a fresh drenching every day for months on end.  You can actually find cake in this fruitcake.  It’s a dark applesauce spice cake with a modest amount of nuts and candied fruit in it, mostly cherries.   It’s very moist and rich in flavor.  When I was a kid my favorite part of eating a piece of that fruitcake was finding a green cherry.  For some reason the green cherries were especially delicious to me.  Well, actually, they tasted the same as the red ones, but red cherries were boring.  Green cherries were special.  Like Martians.

I still have the old recipe but the Jr. Spark and the Sparkettes would just as soon stick searing hot forks into their own eyeballs as have to eat a slice of fruitcake.  And there’s no way Mr. Sparky and I can polish off one of those dense delights.  We couldn’t even come close.  So I don’t make them anymore.  But every now and again, I get a hankerin’…

12 Comments leave one →
  1. lanavaughan permalink
    December 12, 2010 12:05 am

    Send me the recipe. I will make one and enjoy it in your honor. :P

  2. Ruthie permalink
    December 12, 2010 12:08 am

    I’m not so much a fan of fruitcake, although my family is full of them (people not desserts). J- is allergic to nuts, so my desire to make one for my mom from a family recipe really hasn’t ever happened. Alas, I found a great bakery near our home (or where we used to live until two months ago) and every Christmas I would purchase her a small loaf pan of fruitcake. She loved it. The size of the cake was just perfect for her (she lives alone … well unless the two cats count). So when I called the bakery to see if I could get one sent to her this year now that I live six hours away, I was disappointed to find that although they will ship other baked goods, they do not ship their seasonal items. Darn it!

  3. December 12, 2010 3:22 am

    Our family has been making a traditional soaked rum fruitcake just like you mentioned. I am about the only one accept my kids who love it. I look forward to it every year.

  4. Kellie permalink
    December 12, 2010 9:24 am

    Fruitcake I can do without… Fruitcakes of the personal gender I love!… And memories? Well, as they say, I’ll take those good ones to last a lifetime!

  5. VickyVP permalink
    December 12, 2010 9:44 am

    Normally I would say that the only good thing about fruit cake is that you only have to make it once every 2 or 3 years….they last forever! But, this recipe actually sounds good!

    Are you making one this year?

    • December 12, 2010 1:36 pm

      Well, I wasn’t going to, but if you would eat some of it then maybe I’ll reconsider. I just hate to have so much of one go to waste!

      • December 28, 2010 12:09 am

        Yes, I would consider eating some of it! Am I too late? :)

        • December 28, 2010 8:53 pm

          Not too late…because I never got around to it! The commissary didn’t carry candied fruit this year and if I had bought the stuff for it at a regular grocery store, I would have been sinking at least $15 into it BEFORE the nuts and other ingredients! But if I see some candied fruit clearanced out in the next week or so, I might just pick some up and make one anyway. Something tells me that stuff doesn’t really go bad anyway. ;)

  6. December 12, 2010 12:00 pm

    I like fruitcake too! And green cherries!!!!!

  7. December 15, 2010 3:31 pm

    Like Martians – lol!!!

  8. December 24, 2010 12:39 am

    Only in this case it was one of my lifelong.favorites marvelous delectable turtle soup that elicited the Ewww!.face. The gist of the main fruitcake gag reportedly perpetuated by Johnny.Carson was that no one on the planet likes it yet it is abundantly.available and widely given as a gift so a new fruitcake probably.hasnt been manufactured in the past 100 years. Not that I instantly became a fruitcake fiend but I did wonder.how this innocuous spice cake got such a bad rap.

Leave a Reply

