Skip to content

Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’ slippin’…

February 24, 2011
tags:

Tonight I registered the youngest Sparkette for– I can’t believe I’m about to say this– high school classes.

Yes, my baby.  My tupperware-tossing, finger sucking, tantrum-throwing, shoe-loving, baby girl.  She has the nerve to keep growing up.  I don’t recall giving her permission.  I don’t recall anyone asking me.

Which is probably for the best.  Because I’d want to freeze her in some cute little stage and then I’d miss out on the amazing young woman she is becoming.  The young woman who still loves shoes, likes to tinker in the kitchen, is becoming more and more adept at artistic computer ventures, enjoys tinkering with makeup (but is great at not looking like a jail-bait hooker child, thank goodness!), and is now only a couple of inches shorter than I am. Granted, there are days when she’s insufferably 14 and I am reminded of why the mothers of some species eat their young. And her room smells like funk.  But she’s really a great kid and I’m excited to see who she becomes.

A dog bed built for two.

The youngest Sparkette and the Jr. Spark.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2011 11:17 am

    I’m thinking of duct-taping bricks to my children’s heads…kindergarten for the youngest was painful enough…can’t imagine her in highschool…now, where’s that listing dog fostering on Facebook again? They’ll give me new “babies”! :)

  2. February 26, 2011 4:02 pm

    awwww, she’s growing into a beautiful young lady! I am finding now that Oli is here with us, my mind keeps going back to when mine were little….I miss that stage, when they were all so dependent on me for everything, they always said something cute, and they gave me many excuses to act like a child again :) … I love the stages they are in now, but I do miss their childhood….

Leave a Reply

