Skip to content

But but but…

February 25, 2011
tags:

I do the bulk of my grocery shopping at a military commissary.  When I go in the mornings, I’m often trying to shop with a bunch of elderly folks who have been bused in from the Bob Hope Village, a local retirement community for retired military people.  I refer to them as The Village People, and they make my trips interesting, if not occasionally a bit dangerous.

Today I was at the commissary, picking through the produce.  I was having a phone conversation at the same time, using my iPhone earbud headphones so I could have my hands free.  I was careful to not be very loud, even though there weren’t very many people around.  I always find it annoying when someone gets on a cell phone and then suddenly forgets they are sharing the planet with a few other billion people, only one of which likely has any interest in the conversation and THAT person is already on the other end of the line.

Suddenly a little old lady appeared beside me, obviously unaware that I was conversing with another person.

“Don’t talk to yourself.  Pretty soon you’ll start answering.” she chided me.

And then she turned and walked off.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 26, 2011 3:53 pm

    hahaha…too cute…probably some good advise though…lol

Leave a Reply

