Skip to content

It was a dark and stormy night…

March 30, 2011

I’ve been thinking about story again lately.  Not that I ever really stop thinking about it, but lately I’ve been considering it more.  I’m not sure I’m all that thrilled with mine right now.  This chapter leaves me bored deep down inside.  The kind of boredom that isn’t about the things happening around me or to me, but seems to be about something deeper.  There’s a stagnancy that goes beyond the happenings of life.  I’m feeling more like a pond than a river.  And though there’s plenty of life to be found in a pond, I am not a pond girl.  I’m a river rat to the core.

Today I was reminded of just how precious and powerful story can be.  One of my favorite bloggers, Ryan Detzel, posted a story that demonstrates how glorious and personal grace is, and what a cool thing it is to get to be part of someone’s story when they are walking towards freedom and wholeness.

So…enjoy.

Everyone Has A Story

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 12:19 am

    “It was a dark and stormy night; the rain fell in torrents—except at occasional intervals, when it was checked by a violent gust of wind which swept up the streets (for it is in London that our scene lies), rattling along the housetops, and fiercely agitating the scanty flame of the lamps that struggled against the darkness.”

    One of the great things about realizing your life is a story is you become more deliberate about the characters you allow in and see the twists and turns of the plot as part of a progression rather than an end unto themselves.

    You are truly a great character, Sparky. Your story has flavor and spirit because you do. I have to wonder what the next chapter will bring. Can’t wait to turn the page….

Leave a Reply

