Skip to content

NOT what I was planning…

July 30, 2011
tags: ,

Two nights ago my body went on a rampage and refused to sleep.  I don’t know why.  I didn’t have late caffeine.  I didn’t do anything particularly stimulating or energizing in the evening.  But I went the entire night with zero sleep, dreading the commissary trip and work shift I had the next day.  To make a long story short, I survived the day and that evening took a melatonin tablet and crawled into bed for a mini-coma.  I crashed hard.

So last night I figured I’d best do what I could to keep this sleep thing going.  I had a very busy day and it was late by the time I popped another melatonin and hit the sheets.  Right before I turned my light out, I noted that my left eye felt weird, as if it had something in it.  I wiped along my lash line.  No change.  I put some drops in it, hoping to wash out whatever it was.  No help.  And in short order, a mild irritation became a giant nuisance.  So much of a nuisance that there was no way that melatonin tablet was going to overcome it.  It felt like a small pebble was stuck in there. My eye teared and hurt when it was open.  It teared and hurt when it was closed.  I tossed and turned, trying to will myself to sleep.  I figured that I’d scratched my cornea or perhaps gotten another abrasion on one of my Lasik scars (not the first time…I have huge scars from the procedure).  Corneas usually heal super fast so I thought that if I could just get myself to sleep, I’d probably be better in the morning.

Except there was no way I could sleep.  My eye just kept feeling worse and worse.

My next plan was to tolerate the discomfort until morning and then I could head over to my eye doctor, who fixed me up toot sweet the last time I had an issue like this.  I tossed.  I turned.  I tried to find a way my eye wasn’t so miserable.  I was not successful.  And then a terrible thought dawned on me:  tomorrow was Saturday.  What was the likelihood my eye doc was in on Saturday?  I got up and googled it.  Sure enough…the office was closed.  And at that point I decided I’d had enough.  I poked Mr. Sparky and told him I needed to go to the ER.  Fifteen minutes later we were on the road.

I was the only person in the ER, which was good.  Fewer germs and faster service, relatively (on both counts).  I was ushered into the “eye room” where the chair looked like something from 1952…and probably was.  The doc came in and one of the first things he did was put some glorious numbing drops in my eye.  Relief.  After putting some contrast dye in my eye he couldn’t see what was causing the problem, so he gave me some antibiotic drops.  It was a rather generic guess of a treatment, but I was still so happy over the numbing drops he’d put in that I didn’t much care.  He also offered me pain medication for when the drops wore off.  I hesitated.  This didn’t seem like a pain medication injury, you know?  But then again…if I could get to sleep while those numbing drops were still in effect, it would probably help me more than anything.  I said ok…just one dose to get me through the night.  I had no idea they were going to hand me a Percoset.  Yeesh.  Percoset and I tend to have a rather precarious relationship.  I often don’t sleep on Percoset, though I am plenty sleepy.  Instead I micro-sleep and have micro-dreams that are more like micro-hallucinations.  I took the risk and swallowed the pill.  Mr. Sparky drove me home and I was thinking that maybe it wouldn’t even affect me much this time.  About the time we pulled onto our street, I could feel the wrongness of that thought.  I went inside, crawled in bed at about 4:00 am, and woke up around 1:00 pm.  Took a nap a couple of hours later, too.  And I still feel hungover from the stuff.  I will be plenty happy to go to bed again tonight.

My eye isn’t in the sort of acute distress that made me desperate enough to go to the ER last night.  But it’s still rather irritated.  Doesn’t feel right at all and I’m being very careful to avoid touching or rubbing it.  I’m hoping it will feel better tomorrow.  And I’m figuring out I’m going to have to come up with a personal treatment plan to help prevent these incidents.  What Lasik did for me was nothing short of amazing, but right now this is the price I’m having to pay.  Any doc who looks at my corneas is shocked by the scarring.  Heck, I can actually see it with my naked eyes, so it has to be pretty appalling to someone who’s seeing it under magnification!  Other than causing some astigmatism, though, the scars don’t affect my vision.  That makes the scarring an inconvenience, not a problem.

It’s always good to discern the difference between inconveniences and problems.

I’m hoping that tomorrow I’ll no longer be looking like a nasty weepy-eyed cat, though.  Some inconveniences are indeed yuckier than others.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2011 9:43 pm

    Praying for you!

  2. July 30, 2011 10:31 pm

    Ouch! Glad they were able to give you the numbing drops. Could they just give you a six pack to go and skip the perky pill?

  3. July 31, 2011 10:50 am

    What an adventure!! Hope your eye continues to get better and isn’t hurting too badly today…although, I still think you ought to go see an eye doctor!!

  4. sandy permalink
    August 1, 2011 9:10 pm

    Thanks for the inconvenience vs problem statement.
    I absolutely hate wearing glasses.
    However they are an inconvenience. NOT SEEING……now that is a problem.
    Perspective…I needed that!

  5. Mr. Sparky permalink
    August 1, 2011 10:44 pm

    When the doctor examined Sparky’s weepy eye with the slit thing, his immediate response upon getting a peek in her left eye was, “wow.” I’m not making this up. If the scarring impresses an emergency medicine doc…

Leave a Reply

