Skip to content

Worth the price of admission

August 5, 2011

Mr. Sparky and I had an afternoon and evening together today.  We ate out and ran errands, and on spur of the moment decided to see a movie.  Neither of us really knew much about what was showing in the theatres, so I pulled up the listings on my phone and we debated the offerings, consulting Rotten Tomatoes for a third opinion.  In the end we decided on Crazy, Stupid Love which stars Steve Carell, Julianna Moore, Ryan Gosling, and Emma Stone.  Neither of us expected much even though it has a Rotten Tomatoes rating of 75% (which is decently high for RT).  We’re pretty picky about the films we really like.  So today we just hoped we’d be entertained.  A movie doesn’t always have to be good to be entertaining, you know.  Sometimes you know it’s really not that great but for whatever reason you like it anyway.

But to our surprise, the film was actually entertaining and good.  It wasn’t just a fluffy romantic comedy.  It was also a drama with some serious themes running through it.  In the beginning I wondered if the storyline was going to redeem itself, but the strong themes running through it actually ran their course all the way to the end.  And it did have plenty of funny parts.  I’d see it again, definitely.

For those of you who want to know the moral/ethical content of a movie, I will warn you that this is most definitely a movie for a mature audience.  The topic is mature.  There are some words that many people find distasteful.  Sex is a frequent topic.  That said, this isn’t a movie bereft of moral value.  It just chooses a very adult way to get there.  It earned its PG-13 rating quite honestly.

I didn’t eat any popcorn at the movie so I can’t give you a review of the snacks.  I try to be reasonably thorough about these things because I know inquiring minds want to know.  Next time I will try to do better.  I realize it’s for posterity.  It’s for the Sparky Nation.  And we like our poppycorn.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 6, 2011 12:13 am

    Great…now I want popcorn!

Leave a Reply

