Skip to content

I’m melting…

August 6, 2011

It’s 9:00 pm on a Saturday night and don’t you know I’m all gussied up to go out for dancing and a fashionably late dinner!

Ok, so not really.

I’m actually sitting here like a somewhat greasy limp noodle in a pair of equally limp yoga pants.  Both me and my yoga pants were exposed to too much humidity today, hence the limpness.  It’s hot here.  The heat is stifling, the humidity is suffocating.  Thirty seconds outdoors and a person is already dripping.  Nasty.

Today was the first day of Niceville’s brand new Farmers Market.  It’s just a once-a-month thing for now, but we’ve needed one for a long time and I think that it will do well once it is better established.  Today, however, it was just stinkin’ hot and steamy.  At 7:30 am those of us who went early were already swatting gnats and wiping sweat.  I keep telling myself that surely September will be better.  I’m not sure I believe me.

I didn’t grow up here.  I grew up in southeastern Ohio.  It can get super hot and humid there, too, especially since it’s along the Ohio River.  When I was young we didn’t have air conditioning.  I remember how exciting it was when we finally got a room air conditioner for the living room.  It was glorious.  But prior to that our house was cooled by open windows and electric box fans.  And when I say “cooled”, I mean the hot damp air was pushed around through open windows by electric box fans.  The best part of an electric box fan is talking/singing/making weird noises into it.  Well, it’s the best part after spritzing yourself with water and then standing in front of it.  My mom wouldn’t let us do that, however, so we had to settle on using it as our own personal Mr. Talkbox.  Fortunately, we were fairly easily entertained.  And by “fairly easily entertained” I mean we could get a lot of mileage out of complaining about our boredom and bugging our mom by hollering into the fan that blew hot air out of the kitchen.

I wonder why mom was always so happy when we went back to school in September?

I am not a fan of heat and humidity.  There are people who really like this business of feeling like they’re living inside a dryer load of wet towels.  Not me.  Tropical wonder is lost on me.  Give me a crisp fall day anytime.

I am quite sure I know why hell is described as hot and fiery.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    August 6, 2011 9:58 pm

    I had lots of fun talking in to box fans too! My parents still don’t have AC, but we have purchased them 2 window units since I moved out. :)

    • August 6, 2011 10:05 pm

      They are in the Morgantown area? My parents both grew up out in the country not too far from Mineral Wells, near Parkersburg.

      • Amanda permalink
        August 10, 2011 12:01 am

        Cool. Yep, Morgantown is home sweet home! Small, small world. :)

Leave a Reply

