Skip to content

The challenge rolls on

August 7, 2011
tags: ,

The blogging challenge continues.  They say it takes 21 days to build a new habit.  After 14 days I can say that I’m enjoying blogging more and I’m more relaxed about the days I don’t know what to write, but it’s not a habit yet.  If I didn’t have it in my mind that I must blog because of the challenge, I’m sure I’d simply put off posting until tomorrow…or the next day…or…

And that, my friends, is how I started to go a month or more between blog posts.  Not cool.

And so we blog on.  Continuing with me from weeks past are Lana and Vicky.  New to the challenge this week are Laurie and Julie.  The rules are simple: for the next week we will post every day.  A post must consist of a minimum of one paragraph, which must consist of a minimum of three sentences.  The exception is that posting a photo can substitute for up to two of those sentences.  Of course, these are the minimums.  More is fine.  Our goal is to build consistency, not wow the world with novellas or clever commentary.  Though of course, we may do that anyway.  You just never know.  Feel free to check out their blogs and encourage them.  Some are experienced bloggers, but a couple have blogs with ink that is still wet, they’re so new.

Today I am thrilled to report that the eldest Sparkette has returned from Kenya and was not eaten by a lion there, nor even licked by one.  She has shown me some photos of beautiful little brown faces and sprawling Kenyan countryside.  It is obvious she had a wonderful experience.  In a couple of days she will move on to a new experience:  section leader for the trombones of LSU’s Tiger Band.  For yet another season her Buckeye parents will watch SEC football in an attempt to see a glimpse of their daughter in the marching band, which garners a total of about three seconds of air time per game.  Hey, we can hope.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2011 12:00 am

    Just realized one of my 14 posts doesn’t count. :( I didn’t make the sentence count.

    • August 8, 2011 12:02 am

      I know the post you mean, and I figured that some days a person just needs some grace. :)

  2. August 8, 2011 2:29 pm

    What do we win if we post every day? :) I need a new keyboard, I can’t find my ‘n’, ‘e’, or ‘a’ except by touch. :)

    Love reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

