Skip to content

Visions of heirloom tomatoes dancing in my head

August 8, 2011

I keep thinking about gardening.  I mostly think about how much I would like to eat tasty fresh things that haven’t been strip-mined from Guatemala and doused in chemicals that could cause hair to grow on a billiard ball.  I can’t do anything about eating the three-headed radioactive chickens who are subjected to breast-enhancement surgery at the tender age of eight days*, because my neighborhood isn’t zoned for anything other than dogs and cats.  But a garden I could get away with.  In theory.

I remember all too well the summer of container gardening drama.  Gardens are labor-intensive and they aren’t cheap for start-up, either.  If I were to have a garden, I’d want to use as few chemicals as possible.  But I wouldn’t want to set myself up for another summer like the one that haunts me.  And I have zero-zilch-nada idea how to prevent it from happening.  I’m afraid to invest a lot of time and money into trying to make it work, only to harvest $1.48 worth of tomatoes out of a $250 project.

And then there’s the issue that I hate going outside and sweating with the bugs.  If I committed to going outside and sweating with the bugs, I’d want a definite payback in the form of Plentiful and Tasty.

Maybe I should read Cheap and Easy Organic Gardening in the Coastal South for Dummies.  Maybe someone should WRITE Cheap and Easy Organic Gardening in the Coastal South for Dummies.

Something tells me there IS no cheap and easy organic gardening in the coastal south.  Even for the clever and enlightened.

 

Another blogger has joined this week’s challenge.  Looking forward to hearing more from Sheri at Mom’s Baggage!

 

*It has to be true!  I read it in an email forward!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2011 12:37 am

    My garden produced many good things and really didn’t get attacked by bugs or squirrels or birds. Not exactly sure why, since yours was totally attacked….maybe all the critters live in your back yard….

    My garden was totally organic. I did use Miracle Grow fertilizer…but that’s it.

    Like I said before though, you are welcome to a space in my garden boxes next spring, if you’d like.

    • August 9, 2011 7:29 am

      I suspect I’m going to have enough trouble motivating myself to just go out into MY backyard! Haha!

Leave a Reply

