Skip to content

Sit up, roll over, play dead, blog

August 14, 2011

They say it takes 21 days to form a new habit.  I don’t know who “they” are, but I’ve done my 21 days of blog challenge and I’m quite sure this habit is about as set as 1 hour jello.

I enjoy the writing most of the time.  Some days I am motivated because I have a good story to tell and I know people will comment here and on Facebook, which is always fun.  Other days, I just want a cookie.  I blogged, so give me a cookie, darn it.

Maybe the dog and I have more in common than I thought.  He’ll do just about anything for a cookie.

I used to like sweets a lot.  And by a lot, I mean I would eat sweets for every meal, every day if you let me.  I’m not that way anymore.  I still enjoy a good dessert or sweet snack, but I don’t crave them like I used to and I’m picky about the ones I eat.

But if I could still get Keebler’s Opera Cremes, all bets would be off.

I think Opera Cremes were discontinued in the ’80s.  I grew up eating them, and I’m sure they were a favorite of my mother and that’s why we had them around so often.  A package of Opera Cremes contained two kinds of sandwich cookies, chocolate and vanilla.  But the best part was the filling.  It was lemon.  And it was wonderful in either kind of cookie.  Being the sort of kid I was (am), I always tried to unscrew them to get at the filling better.

Why, yes…I do unscrew Double Stuff Oreos and make Quadruple Stuff Oreos out of them.  Why do you ask?

Actually, I’m not that wild about Oreos anymore.  But Opera Cremes are another story.  If you’re going to eat cookies made in a factory (or a big tree inhabited by elves), Opera Cremes would be the way to go.  Except some Head Elf in the Keebler Clan went loco and discontinued this wonderful sandwich cookie goodness.

I hope they banned him to the treeless prairie, where he would be forced to battle prairie dogs for shelter in little tunnels underground.

Not that I’m bitter or anything.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2011 11:14 pm

    I miss those, too. They were really good.

  2. August 14, 2011 11:38 pm

    I remember those! Yes, I miss them too! They were very yummy!!!

  3. Ruth Wagner permalink
    August 15, 2011 7:08 am

    Lisa!! Christa and I are STILL looking for Opera Cremes! Our grandmother (Peg’s mom, “Granny” to us) always had a package in her kitchen. I still remember sitting at her table with her original Fiesta dishes, unscrewing those things and eating the lemon filling. Remember the little bumps from the oval-shaped holes in the cookies??? We rarely got to eat “store-bought” cookies….just at Granny’s house and sometimes at VBS.

    Thanks for the reminder!!

    • August 15, 2011 8:22 am

      I didn’t talk about it in the post, Ruth, but trying to get the bumps of filling out of the holes in the cookies was one of my favorite parts!

Leave a Reply

