Skip to content

Calendar girls

August 15, 2011
tags: ,

When I left work early this evening I found myself thinking that the weather was almost tolerable.

See, that is what comes from living in this heat and humidity.  It addles your brain.

Actually, it wasn’t horrible, comparatively.  The humidity was down a bit, and the thermometer in the van said it was 87 degrees.  By the time I drove over the bridge and reached home, though, it said 93 degrees.  That is way up there on the hot-o-meter.

In seasons like this I have to remember to not wish my days away, looking for something that isn’t where I am.  That’s a challenge to me in FL summers where I hurry from one air-conditioned place to another.  I don’t like being hot.  I don’t like being sticky.  I want autumn to hurry up and bring crisp football weather.  I want the trees to blush and glow.  I want October.

October fascinates me.  All around me the trees and the lawns begin to go dormant for the winter.  They are experiencing a kind of death, and although it’s vaguely melancholy, it’s also amazingly beautiful.

Tonight Mr. Sparky and I were watching the Food Network when a commercial came on advertising an eyelash-thickening medication.  It was being marketed by older women, to older women.  Mr. Sparky’s comment was “why not just age and let the lashes become more sparse?”  “Because our culture doesn’t accept the natural process of aging in women.  It’s all about looking young, and anything else isn’t considered ‘beautiful'”, I answered.  As we watched, several more commercials for products meant to preserve or recover a youthful appearance played on the screen.

When I was a child, I recall a woman in my little hometown church who had a face that was a mass of wrinkles.  Her forehead, her eyelids, her cheeks, her lips…it was all deeply lined.  I found it fascinating.  Her wrinkles were soft and her skin was fair, and it looked as if it would feel like silk to touch.  It was beautiful.  She was beautiful.

As a culture we have trained ourselves to disdain our personal Octobers.  We battle them, trying to turn back the clock and fool everyone into thinking we’re only in June.  Do we think that when our December 31st comes that everyone around us will be shocked, because they thought we were the first half of July, max?

Beauty in the changing colors.  Beauty in the harvest.  Beauty in the chill of the air.  Beauty in the slowing down.  Beauty in life passing from one form to another.

Beauty in October.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2011 1:14 am

    I’ve always loved pumpkin time.

  2. August 16, 2011 8:25 am

    Beautifully said… “our personal Octobers”… Love it. Reminds me a little of http://www.abbeyofthearts.com and her work on the wisdom of seasons.

    • August 16, 2011 10:08 am

      Interesting site, interesting work. I’d just read her guest post at Anam Cara a few days ago. :)

  3. August 16, 2011 2:23 pm

    I love October too…especially in the fall when the leaves are changing and the cool weather has come! Here in Florida October is the start of the cool weather, so I love it for that…and I love it for the harvest, and I love it for the pumpkins :)))

Leave a Reply

