Skip to content

The Help

August 19, 2011
tags: ,

Tonight Mr. Sparky, the youngest Sparkette and I went to see The Help.  I haven’t read the book yet, though I’ve bought it with intent to read it soon.   It’s rare that the book isn’t significantly better, but I didn’t feel like waiting to see the movie.  And I’m glad I didn’t. The movie was well done and I really enjoyed it.

I’m not going to actually say much about the plot of the movie.  I don’t want to spoil the movie for anyone who intends to see it but hasn’t yet.  Plot-spoiling is no bueno.

It was interesting to take the Sparkette to this movie.  The movie is set in Jackson, Mississippi in 1962.  That’s a world that’s simply foreign to her.  After the movie we talked and she just couldn’t fathom why white people would be so cruel to black people.

I love this about her.  And I love that she’s grown up in a time and place where the idea of this sort of racism and violence  baffle her.

It would be easy to think the movie is just about racism, but it’s about much more than that.  It’s about telling an unpopular truth.  It’s about doing the right thing even when it’s going to cost you dearly.  It’s about doing what is necessary to make your life count for something.  It takes a lot of courage to do those things.

The movie is well cast.  It’s long but not slow.  And it’s worth the price of seeing it on the big screen.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2011 12:08 am

    I LOVED reading “The Help,” and am looking forward to eventually seeing it (though being the cheapo that I am, I will probably wait and get it with a free rental code at Redbox :) hah! One of the best books I’ve read in a while…so well done :)

  2. Mr. Sparky permalink
    August 23, 2011 8:24 pm

    I don’t think I’ll spoil the plot with two tidbits that really impressed me. I love how the writers captured the spirit and character of one of the black maids, who were The Help. Aibileen seems powerless to change the world she lives in, but she found a way. The white baby girl she cared for heard every day Aibileen was there, “You is smart, you is kind, you is important.” Aibileen couldn’t coordinate a march on Washington or organize a sit-in or rally against the KKK, but she could influence the next generation to kindness and not meanness. The second tidbit is how they captured Aibileen’s humility. When she and her friend entered a building, the people gathered inside started applauding. So, Aibileen started clapping also and looked around to see who was behind her. It never occurred to her the applause was for her. Absolutely beautiful character portrayal, splendidly performed by Viola Davis. Worth the admission just to watch this actress at the top of her craft.

Leave a Reply

