Skip to content

If a tree falls in the forest…

August 27, 2011
tags: ,

I recently changed the text tone on my phone.  It used to be the standard “tri-tone” sound.  I changed it to a sound called “glass”.  It’s just a clear ting-ting, like someone striking a crystal glass.  And I don’t know how to express how happy that sound makes me.  Not because I’m getting a text, but because I just plain like the sound.  There is something light and pure about it.

This world is full of sounds I hate hearing.  Adults screaming ugly words at children.  Nails on a chalkboard.  Dentist’s drills.  Mosquitoes buzzing my ear.  The sound of an auto crash.  An animal yelping or crying in pain.  A twenty-one gun salute.  Sounds like these grate not only on my ears, but on my soul.

But then there are the sounds I love.  Laughter.  Crickets and other night sounds.  Distant thunder.  Rain.  A cat’s purr.  A breeze rustling through the trees, or gently whoosing through a cornfield.  The quietness of a blanket of snow.  The grunts and squeaks of an infant. The singing of a hot kettle.  A soulful violin or a dancing fiddle.  The quiet breathing of a sleeping child.  Cicadas in the tree tops.  Songbirds.  The squeaky slam of a screen door.

Sound is powerful.  It lifts, it crushes, it restores.  It calls to mind memories long past, both good and bad.

It gives us something to dance to.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 29, 2011 11:50 am

    Sounds………I am thankful to even be able to hear!
    I just changed my ring tone to Big Ben Clocktower in London (aka grandfather clock sound)
    Weird….but there is really something I like about that!

Leave a Reply

