Skip to content

Fwuffy-puff

August 30, 2011

Every now and then I think about my childhood and something will stop me in my tracks and tweak my brain.

Case in point:  my mother, who forced me to eat vile vegetables and would never let me have both Sno-Balls out of a package of Hostess snacks, would permit me to sit in front of morning cartoons and kid shows with an entire bag of marshmallows and eat them until I was practically green.  I did this regularly, and this is how I came to know that I actually prefer my marshmallows stale and chewy.  But seriously…she let me eat as many marshmallows as I wanted.  She would let me have custody of the entire bag.

This just does not compute.  This is SO un-Irene.

But it’s no wonder I love stale Peeps.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2011 12:05 am

    We never had marshmallows in the house!

  2. Laurie Wade permalink
    August 31, 2011 4:09 am

    I’ve got a couple of bags of stale marshmallows over here, but you have to come here to get them. :)

  3. August 31, 2011 8:48 am

    No Sno-Balls???? How cruel!

    • August 31, 2011 8:53 am

      I could have them, but only one. She never let me have the whole package. All the other kids got the whole Hostess treat in their lunches at school.

  4. Joann permalink
    August 31, 2011 9:25 am

    My mom bought several jars of marshmallow cream when it was on sale after Christmas. I would sneak a jar and after school, before she came home from work, I would sit with my jar of marshmallow cream and a jar of peanut butter, creamy please, and eat them together. I would hollow the center out, so that it would never be known by looking at the jar in the pantry, that I was eating the marshmallow cream. By the time Christmas rolled around, and it was fudge making time, mama would have to buy more cream to replace what I had eaten. She could never figure out why the marshmallow cream that she bought on sale was gone. That memory makes me feel really guilty…that really had nothing to do with your story but that’s what it reminded me of.

    • Mr. Sparky permalink
      September 2, 2011 9:40 pm

      I ate the same thing with one addition: I added semisweet chocolate chips to mine. I have no idea how I slept later.

  5. August 31, 2011 11:03 am

    Nowshe keeps a junk food drawer for all her grand and great grand babies!

Leave a Reply

