Skip to content

Open wide and scream AHHH!!!!

August 31, 2011

Getting my teeth cleaned is usually a relatively pleasant experience, even though I have a crown that’s been grumpy and touchy the entire 28 years I’ve had it. I know that no matter how well I treat it, it’s going to complain about being prodded.  I pay little attention and just enjoy the rest of the visit, which is usually rather minimal, intervention-wise.

But not today.  I don’t know if something was different in my mouth or what.  I haven’t changed my care routine, so either my body chemistry has changed, or my hygienist was expending some surplus aggression on my mouth.  Maybe she and the hubs had a fight before she came to work or something.  By ten minutes into the visit I wouldn’t have been surprised if she’d pulled out a jack hammer and some bullwhips.  Freaked out, yes.  Surprised, no.  She scraped and scritched and scrubbed until I started to wonder if my teeth would actually look smaller by the time she ground off a few layers of enamel.

Still, when I left the office my teeth felt nice and slick and freshly cleaned, so I figured the ends were worth the means.  Until a few hours later when my mouth began to feel like I’d been chewing elephant hide all day long.  My teeth felt achy and my gums felt raw.

That little sweet pea of a hygienist has always done a great job, and my dentist keeps assuring me I’ll get to keep my teeth for another six months (yes, I always ask.  One should be sure of these things, you know.)  But I hope sweet pea hygienist and her husband made up.  Next time I have an appointment, I may just have a bouquet of flowers delivered to her at the office right before my appointment, and sign his name to them.

Seems like reasonable insurance to me.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Joann permalink
    August 31, 2011 10:40 pm

    I really don’t like having my mouth messed with, but I love my dentist. I won’t let her hygienist near me. The first and only time she did left me completely petrified and so my dentist cleans them for me. She does a lovely job and always encourages me to floss more. I have almost talked my hands into giving up their death grip on the chair.

    • August 31, 2011 10:42 pm

      We got Liv a water flosser for her braces and I sometimes sneak in her bathroom and change the tip and do my own teeth. It feels good and stimulating without the shredded floss and snapped gums (my molars are very tight). You might like one. :)

  2. September 1, 2011 6:16 pm

    That’s awesome!

  3. September 1, 2011 6:18 pm

    I hate the dentist

    • September 1, 2011 7:02 pm

      I once had a dentist who could tell I was terrified of him, so he shot me so full of Novocaine that it made my legs wobbly, and when he said hello to me, all I could do was giggle. I didn’t know novocaine could do that to a person! Haha!

  4. September 1, 2011 7:08 pm

    LOL

Leave a Reply

