Skip to content

Pass the sunscreen, please

September 1, 2011

“We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.”

The Weight Of Glory, C.S. Lewis  1949

A few years ago I decided to stop being so easily pleased.  It sounds rather arrogant when I say it like that, doesn’t it?  Ungrateful and snotty.  But I became convicted that I had spent my life messing about with “good”, “useful”, and “responsible” at the expense of holding out for God’s best for me.  Good does not necessarily equal best.  Good smacks of duty, though it’s still good; best is full of deep joy, even when it’s a miserable venture.

I quickly discovered that a decision such as this becomes a target for judgment.  Or rather, it is the decider of said decision that becomes the target.  There are folks in the world who don’t like to hear “no” and take it as a personal challenge.  And there are folks in the world who believe that the only reason anyone would respond to a reasonable request (their definition of reasonable, of course) has to be selfishness or apathy.

The  first thing that has to go if you’re holding out for God’s best is a bent for the approval of other humans, or you will be a Mud Pie Queen.

I also discovered that I had to come to peace with waiting.  Remember waiting?  That is what we had to do before we had microwaves.  And cell phones.  And computers.  I don’t much like waiting.  It rarely feels fruitful.  Or fun.  It mostly feels like…waiting.  Like eight hours in a doctor’s office waiting room with a half-dozen four-year-old issues of fishing magazines.

The second thing that has to go if you’re holding out for God’s best is a microwave mentality, or you will be a Mud Pie Queen.

And then I discovered that I had to lose my taste for feeling important, affirmed, irreplaceable, and confident because of my willingness to do things I am capable of doing but not necessarily called to do.  This is especially hard to do when there are a lot of atta-girls flying one’s way.   I really don’t believe that God wants me to rely on humans to pump those feelings up in me.  He might use them to remind me of His pleasure in me, but there’s a difference between a couple of Skittles and an entire diet of Human Mud Fluff.

The third thing that has to go if you’re holding out for God’s best is a love for mud pies, or you will be a Mud Pie Queen.

The things that are mud pies for me are seaside holidays for someone else.  If I take their seaside holiday, then I degrade it to a mud pie and raise the chance that they will settle for a mud pie, too.

I’m thinking about this because I’ve had to say no to several things lately, all of them good, but none of them driven by the urgency and confident peace of a God Prompt.  It’s been hard because frankly, I often struggle with feeling directionless and under-stimulated and under-utilized.  But I do not want to wear the crown of a Mud Pie Queen.

Takes a lotta shampoo to get that out.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2011 10:25 pm

    Can I still be the Moon Pie Queen?

    My mentor Marilyn Pinkston used to tell me all the time “Just because you can doesn’t mean you should”.

    • September 1, 2011 10:27 pm

      Funny, people who are around me a lot hear ME say that a lot, too. It’s SOOOO true. What sort of crown does a Moon Pie Queen wear?

  2. September 1, 2011 10:50 pm

    Gotta learn to just BE too! Took me a minute to figure out what the title had to do with the post. lol

  3. September 2, 2011 8:32 am

    weighty thoughts and also waity thoughts. thanks.

Leave a Reply

