Skip to content

Permission from the skies

September 3, 2011

It was a dark and stormy night…

Tropical Storm Lee is dumping water from the skies.  The rain moves through in bands.  It will stop (or nearly stop) and the next thing I know a dull roar will arise as the roof is being pounded again by dense, heavy rain.  Sometimes it gets a little gusty, but mostly it’s not been too bad.  Louisiana and Mississippi are getting it far worse, what with higher winds, far more rain, flooding, and storm surge.  There are tornado watches all across the Gulf Coast.  There isn’t a lot happening here, but the potential for it is there.

Honestly, this feels like my life right now.  When it rains, it pours, and it moves through in bands.  Often there isn’t much happening, but the potential is there.  I can always say that someone else is getting it far worse, so I really don’t have any room to complain…not that I’m stopped by that fact when I get to feeling restless and out of sorts.

I actually like rain a lot.  I like how it makes things smell.  I like how the wetness intensifies colors and sounds.  I like the sound of water running down the downspouts, and the sound of wet swishing as cars drive on wet pavement.  I like how birds seem to be so happy about the rain, trilling out songs at what seems to be a slightly higher volume than usual.  And mostly I like rain because it makes me feel like I have permission to be and feel whatever I like.  When it’s sunny outside there is pressure from the weather to be happy and perky and energetic.  But when it’s raining, that pressure is off.  It’s ok to sing in the rain.  It’s ok to cry in the rain.  It’s ok to sit on the porch and read a good book in the rain.  It’s ok to go walking in the rain, and it’s ok to use an umbrella, or to just get wet.  It’s all good in the rain.

Tomorrow it will rain more, according to weather forecasts.  It will make for a glorious Sunday afternoon nap.

I kinda wish I had the stuff to make some chili.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2011 1:56 am

    Here Comes the rain doo do do do ….and I say…it’s alright…

  2. September 4, 2011 9:20 am

    I love all the permissions the rain gives us! I think today (Sunday) we ‘LLC have even more permissions…the rain hasn’t. Let up all morning!

  3. Laurie Wade permalink
    September 4, 2011 4:28 pm

    I love the outlook.

  4. September 8, 2011 9:09 pm

    I really like rain, too. I don’t really like driving in it. But I love being inside a cozy house listening to it and watching it.

Leave a Reply

