Skip to content

Hopping on the blogging bus

September 4, 2011
tags:

Another week of the blog challenge is here!  This is my seventh week of doing this.  I really appreciate those who have joined me in this, whether for a week, a few weeks, or for the entire time.  It has helped me immensely to have accountability to blog daily, and I hope it’s done the same for others.  When I’m staring at a screen with my mind tired and blank, I am forced to recall what I’ve been saying to others:  that this is about building consistency, not about making every blog post a home run for the reader, and if I build consistency, my content will almost certainly automatically improve in time.  So every week now for the past six weeks I’ve had to ask myself if I’m going to keep going for another week.  Thus far the answer has been yes, and so here we go again!

Fresh meat a new blogger this week!  Holly has been blogging for quite some time and has built an impressive audience with her blogs about life with her five children and living on a budget, but admits that she’s fallen off the posting wagon and needs to get back on.  You can find her at:

Southern Seven

Here are the returning bloggers:

Watcha Thinkin’?

Upon My Word

Watch Me Grow

God, Family, Country, Love

Mom’s Baggage

Lana Vaughan

The Queen and the Ugly Pig

Chocolate Cake For Breakfast

Another blogger will be joining us starting on September 8th.  I’ll post her blog address for you then.  And if any others hop on the bus after I hit the “publish” button, you’ll hear about them, too.

Each blog is very different.  Some of the bloggers have blogged for a long time; some are new to blogging.  Each blogger, myself included, is seeking to build a habit of consistency.  Just this week I’ve heard a couple comments about how some of us are starting to think in blog posts.  That’s a good thing!

Feel free to drop by these blogs to read a bit and perhaps encourage the blogger in the writing journey.  Everyone loves a sincere pat on the back now and again, especially when they’re trying to do something new (like blog EVERY day!).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2011 9:13 am

    What is the blogger challenge??

    • September 5, 2011 9:50 am

      Blake, It’s a challenge to post every day. A posting must consist of a minimum of one paragraph, and that one paragraph must consist of a minimum of three sentences. Posting a photo could substitute for up to two of those sentences. The idea is to build a habit of consistency in blogging. We don’t worry about the perceived quality of the posts; most times content automatically improves as the rate of posting rises and becomes consistent. Let me know if you’d like to join us or if you know anyone else who would!

  2. September 5, 2011 12:54 pm

    I have been trying to post one post every day…how do i join?

    • September 5, 2011 4:23 pm

      Just tell me you want to! I’ll give you a shout-out in my blog so that others will know you’ve joined us and they can check out your blog too. This week the participants asked for prompts. I will send the list to your email, and if you want to use them you can…but you don’t have to. :)

Leave a Reply

