Skip to content

Got my lovey and my 401K

September 5, 2011

Recently I’ve found myself thinking about security.  You know– that sense of being ok, of confidence that our well-being is somehow protected and covered.

We are born with both a desire for security and a drive to procure it for ourselves.  Little kids have security blankets and “loveys” to help them feel secure.  Adults?  We have bank accounts and calendars, traditions and routines, relationships and piles of stuff.

It strikes me that counting on such things is about as smart as clutching a kleenex to hold over one’s head in case of rain.

In a few days it will be the 10th anniversary of the terrorist attack on the Twin Towers in New York City.  Like most people, I remember that day.  I know where I was, I recall what I did, and most of all, I remember the numbing shock when faced with the proof that such a terrible thing could happen on American soil.  It wasn’t that I never thought it could; it’s just that it never had and I hoped it never would.  But it did.  Our homeland definitely felt less secure.

It’s easy to think that our wobbliness comes from things we lack.  “If I only had more money…a husband…more education…a bigger house…better connections…my debts paid off…children…a better position in my job...”  But the reality is that we were never meant to derive our security from the things of this world.  God created us for Him, and He is for us.  And He knows that the moment we start looking to things and people around us to make us feel secure, we’re in big trouble.  Things might seem ok for a while, but eventually it’s not going to go well for us.  We are going to crash.

Woe to those who go down to Egypt for help,
   who rely on horses,
who trust in the multitude of their chariots
   and in the great strength of their horsemen,
but do not look to the Holy One of Israel,
   or seek help from the LORD.
 Yet he too is wise and can bring disaster;
   he does not take back his words.
He will rise up against that wicked nation,
   against those who help evildoers.
 But the Egyptians are mere mortals and not God;
   their horses are flesh and not spirit.  Isaiah 31:1-3

There was a time when this passage literally meant Egypt.  But today we don’t have much of a habit of running to Egypt, do we?  I mean, I haven’t been to Egypt in like, forever.  But we do indeed run to the things of this world.  And we somehow expect those things to have the power to save and protect us, when in fact God has made it clear that He has the power to crush those things with the tip of His pinky finger.  He’s so crazy about us, and He is jealous for us.  He doesn’t care to tolerate our lesser lovers that give us false security and keep us from learning how wonderful He is.  He will yank the rug out from under us and listen for us to call out to Him to catch us as we fall, because that is what He really wants to do.  He wants us to know Him as Provider…Protector…Healer…Warrior…and so many other wonderful things that we’ll never be able to comprehend as long as we are asking the things and people of this world to love us and do His job.

I don’t want to hold onto the wrong things.  I want to enjoy what I’m given and use it wisely, but I don’t want to forget that my true security is in the Giver who knows what I need before I can take a breath to ask for it, and who is not the least bit impressed with my personal lovey collection.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 6, 2011 7:41 am

    Truth well spoken. I’m living proof of this one in a way I never was before. Though hard at times, it’s definitely sweet!

Leave a Reply

