Skip to content

Did I really see that?

September 9, 2011
tags:

It happened so fast that for a split second I didn’t realize that it had happened at all.  And then it registered…and I knew it really had.

I was driving home from work today and as I pulled off the main drag here in Sparkville and onto the side street that would lead to my street, I saw him coming.  He had to be nearly 80 years old.  He was white-haired, rather hunched, somewhat pudgy, and dressed in an old white t-shirt, a pair of gym shorts, and running shoes.  Both knees had support braces.  He was wearing a headband to keep the sweat out of his eyes, and he was indeed sweating as he jogged along at a pace barely beyond a shuffle.  It was obvious that it was a good deal of work for him.  I glanced at him as I was about to drive past, and without looking at me directly or changing facial expression, he briefly raised his left hand and flashed me the American Sign Language sign for “I love you”.  I did a double take, but he was quick and had resumed using his arms to help move his body forward.

I wish I had driven around the block so I could have flashed the sign back to him.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2011 4:50 am

    Cool

  2. hopetuttle permalink
    September 12, 2011 3:25 pm

    you should have flashed him and made his decade

Leave a Reply

