Skip to content

An abrupt ending

September 15, 2011

I’ve come to enjoy turning on the radio in the mornings while I get ready for my day.  WMXZ 103.1 plays Kidd Kraddick In The Morning, a radio show syndicated out of Dallas.    Or they did, until today.

Today I turned on the radio and discovered that a different radio show had been given that time slot.  I listened for a while, hoping I’d like it just as much.  But what I heard wasn’t appealing at all.  It wasn’t the sort of light-hearted camaraderie I was used to hearing on the Kidd Kraddick show.  It had a darker, more aggressive tone.  The language was more crass, the interactions sharper.  I didn’t like how it made me feel when I listened.  I won’t be tuning in.

This actually was the death knell for listening to WMXZ at all.  I’ve never known a station so prone to dead air time.  Do you know what happens when you set your RADIO alarm to a radio station that isn’t playing anything at the time the alarm is supposed to sound?  I do.  From experience.   And the music I can take or leave.  There are plenty of other stations out there playing similar programming, and I have XM radio in my van if I want entertainment on the road.  What kept me tuned in was Kidd Kraddick.

In short: no Kidd Kraddick for WMXZ, no WMXZ for Sparky.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2011 11:18 pm

    I’ve had my share of dead air time lately. Sorry about your morning show. It’s unsettling when your normal is missing.

  2. September 16, 2011 8:52 am

    I hate when that happens! I like routine a whole lot so when it’s gone…

  3. September 19, 2011 9:12 am

    You can access them live via Ustream. Not sure if it will work for you but thought I’d mention it.

    • September 19, 2011 9:17 am

      I know, but I listen to them in the van or while getting ready for the day and don’t have a computer in either place. And once I’m sitting at my computer, I like quiet. It’s a bummer. The new show is just too harsh and crass for daily exposure!

Leave a Reply

