Skip to content

Psst! Hey kid…wanna buy a hard drive?

September 16, 2011

The Big Desk Computer is home safe and sound.  It did not have to have a brain transplant.  In fact, it did exactly what my kids used to do when they were little.  They would scream and cry for hours, feverish and tugging on their ears, totally inconsolable, and the moment I would break down and take them to the ER at 2am they would perk up and smile and wave at the tech at the desk and bat their eyes at the doctor.   I dropped off the computer and I think I no sooner left the shop than it was smiling and waving at the Computer Whisperer.  I went to pick it up today and the Computer Whisperer took me back and let me see with my very own eyes that it was doing calisthenics for him and wasn’t even short of breath.

So I brought it home.

And you know what came next.

Mr. Sparky hooked it back up with minimal accoutrements (keyboard, mouse, and speakers) and logged me in.  I sat down and clicked on an email in Outlook Express.  The program promptly hung.  Yup, the first time I touched it, it hung.  It finally resolved.  But then it hung in Firefox.  A bit later it completely locked up when I asked it to show me another email.  Mr. Sparky gave it a stern lecture and told Firefox to go to bed.  Firefox would not obey.  After insisting three times and threatening it with a wooden spoon, he had to do a hard shutdown because nothing else would respond or resolve.  I think it picked up some attitude from some of the other bad egg computers it hung out with after hours at the reform school repair shop.

Upon restarting the computer there was a notification about a corrupt file in the Safe Eyes program.  I KNEW there was corruption!  I just knew it!  We disabled Safe Eyes and thus far no more hanging, locking, or flipping me the bird.  But if the kids get on here I’d rather have the program activated.  There’s just too much that isn’t fit to see that comes up as advertisements and offers, and the home ought to be a reasonably safe haven from that stuff.

At this point I am convinced that my Fairy Godmother has been hanging out with this computer.   Bad company corrupts good character, and we all know that old bat is always just one bar brawl away from breaking probation.  I really don’t know why I didn’t get one of those sweet Fairy Godmothers who wears pink chiffon and waves her glitter wand and makes the world all happy and wonderful.  I’m sure this computer would never behave badly for THAT kind of Fairy Godmother.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2011 10:48 pm

    Glad it’s back home. Sorry it’s still got issues. I know how frustrating that can be.

  2. September 16, 2011 10:50 pm

    Glad to have you officially back!! More crack ups on the way via the Sparkies!!

  3. Derek permalink
    September 17, 2011 5:34 am

    Forget Safe Eyes. OpenDNS (free) and, unless you have wifi, there is nothing to install on your pc. Ask Ven abort it.

  4. September 17, 2011 9:44 am

    Glad you’re back too….I also know about computer woes. Took my laptop in to get it fixed and they sent it back with this recommendation…”too expensive to fix, buy a new one”. So, I now have a huge external keyboard plugged into the usb port on my laptop so that I can type :P

    Hope your computer resolves itself. Sounds like the safe eyes program is messing with your computer. We had an accountability program once that gave us nothing but hassles….. :(

Leave a Reply

