Skip to content

True confessions

September 18, 2011

When I was a kid I didn’t like peanut butter.  For realz.  I thought it smelled bad and tasted worse.  I liked it ok in a Reesie Cup (and yes, we always called them Reesie Cups).  My mom made these bar cookies that had peanut butter (and chocolate) in the frosting and I liked those ok, too.  And that peanut butter topping that Friendly’s put on their Reese Cup Sundaes?  Holy moly!  But plain peanut butter?  Nope.  And definitely not those little Toast-Chee things either.  Nasty.

I sorta wanted to like peanut butter.  It knew it would be convenient.  I thought freshly ground peanut butter was pretty good, but it actually tasted like mashed up peanuts.  I never thought a jar of Jif tasted like mashed up peanuts.

And then came that summer.  I was on summer break from college, working as a camp counselor for a bunch of inner-city kids, most of whom had never been out in the country, let alone to camp.   It was a high energy job and I was on the go from sun-up until well after sundown every day.  It was difficult to consume enough calories at our camp meals for the amount of energy I was putting out, and since we were living like families at our campsites there was no way to sneak a snack.  There was always a jar of peanut butter on the table during meals, but I couldn’t bring myself to make a sandwich.  But one day I as I was eating an ice cream sandwich for dessert I got an idea.  I knew I liked chocolate and peanut butter together in other forms.  Maybe I could stomach real peanut butter if I spread it thinly on top of an ice cream sandwich.  And maybe that would help fill me up and keep me full longer.  I tried it.  And it wasn’t too bad at all.  By the end of the summer I was eating a decent layer of peanut butter on my ice cream sandwich.  I guess you could say ice cream sandwiches were my gateway food.

After that summer I still didn’t much care for eating plain peanut butter, but I found more and more ways I could enjoy small amounts of it.  And occasionally I would even crave a peanut butter and blackberry jam sandwich (light on the PB, heavy on the J).

Peanut butter has grown on me through the years.  The chocolate and peanut butter combo have gone from “I like” to near obsession.  I love plain peanut butter as a mix-in with dark chocolate ice cream at Coldstone or Marble Slab.  I think a cold peanut butter and jelly sandwich is tasty.  I like peanut butter on a banana, assuming the banana is still a bit green.  I’ll even lick the end of the butter knife I used to spread the stuff, the area where it’s unadulterated peanut butter.   It’s a miracle!

But I still think those Toast-Chee things are nasty.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2011 1:30 am

    Oh my goodness…thise toasty-cheesee things are nasty whether they have peabut butter or cheese filling…yuck!

    We called them Reesie Cups too…must be a northern thing.

    I’ve always loved peanut butter spoons (dip your spoon right into the jar of peanut butter; scoop out a big spoonful, lick like a lolly poo! Mmmmmm good!

  2. liz permalink
    September 18, 2011 7:30 am

    Sister Dear, this is one way we differ. I have always been a peanut butter girl. Give me a jar of CREAMY Jif & a spoon & I’m in Heaven. Colories be damned! I don’t like peanuts though. I might eat a few if they’re the honey roasted variety but other than that, YUCK! That’s the reason for the creamy Jif. Chunky? Gross! And yes, it is Reesie… ;-)

  3. September 18, 2011 11:12 am

    One of my sinful, and yes I mean sinful, treats is a tortilla spread with peanut butter, mini marshmallows, and mini semi-sweet chocolate chips, another tortilla spread with peanut butter laid on top and the outsides spread in butter and fried on my flat griddle pan until the outside is golden crispy, the marshmallows are puffed and melty, and the chips are oozy gooey. The thought of this makes my mouth water and my teeth hurt a little. To say that I have a peanut butter/marshmallow obsession would be stating it mildly.

    • Mr. Sparky permalink
      September 18, 2011 6:27 pm

      Oh my! That sounds remarkable. And I thought I was gluttonous to eat my PB, marshmallow creme and chocolate chips out of a bowl. You’re one up on me!

    • September 18, 2011 9:46 pm

      Joann – you really need to become my professional cook. You and Sparky!!

  4. September 19, 2011 9:09 am

    Reesie cups ……..not only a northern expression.

    I get up at 4 am to get ready for work. I have found I completely wilt if I do not eat a PB and J at 5 am. I do not like to eat early. I have to make myself eat it. I’ve tried to eat different things. The PB is the only thing that last for hours! Good thing I don’t work everyday. I dont think I could eat that many PB and J’s……(Dickinsons Black Raspberry Jelly……TRY it!)

Leave a Reply

