Skip to content

Hello, T-R-O-U-B-L-E

September 22, 2011

When I was younger I was a fiend for sweets.  Not anymore.  I go days without eating sweet things at all, though I do occasionally get a hankering for something sweet-ish.  My tastes have changed and I prefer the sweets I do eat to be more flavorful and less sweet.  By “more flavorful” I mean more natural flavors and less artificial flavoring, unless we’re talking about fake grape, in which case, bring it on.

I have no idea why I like fake grape so much.  But Koolaid, lollipops, Skittles, Pixy Stix, Popsicles…if it’s grape, I love it.

I grew up eating the fares of excellent old school country cooks.  Desserts were handmade and didn’t contain a lot of processed extras beyond flour and sugar, and I’m convinced there was far less sugar in those desserts.  But as a young adult my palate became less discerning.  If it was sweet, I would eat it, unless it was maple or had black walnuts in it.  Fortunately, those are fairly easy to avoid and left a pretty wide field of contestants in the running for my junk food of the moment.  It was a relief when I finally started to realize that I was losing my taste for all those sweets.  I didn’t really want to crave them as much as I did.

These days I prefer things that are salty, or better yet, spicy.  But if you can manage to give me something that is sweet AND salty, or sweet AND spicy, or sweet AND salty AND spicy, then I’m sunk.

Yesterday at the commissary, I was torpedoed by this:

Sweet creamy ice cream.  Salty caramel.  Sweet chocolate over salty, crunchy potato chips.  This is heaven in a cardboard pint container, folks.  This stuff is proof for conservatives that God uses liberals to do His holy work.  Go ahead and get you some.  You will hear the angels sing with each bite.  And the seams of your pants stretch.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2011 4:51 am

    yep, all I needed was a little more trouble! yum yum

  2. September 23, 2011 7:47 am

    Heather wanted to get this the other night, I wouldn’t let her because…well, I don’t know what my reason was, now I’m kicking myself. Those little cartons are perfect for the four of us!

  3. September 23, 2011 8:50 am

    And I thought I was in trouble with their Red Velvet Cake flavor! Oh my! Must try this immediately!

  4. September 24, 2011 7:13 pm

    Oh man…this has all my favorite weaknesses! Gotta get me some too…wow!

Leave a Reply

