Skip to content

The dust bunnies are more lively

September 24, 2011

Well, this isn’t exactly what I had planned for my day off today.

I thought maybe I’d take the Sparkette and the Honorary Sparkette to shop for a dress for Homecoming.  Not happening.

I thought maybe I’d check out Oktoberfest.  Not happening.

I thought maybe I’d check out the City Market.  Not happening.

I thought maybe I’d clean.  I got a load of towels washed, but beyond that…not happening.

I’ve napped.  I’ve sipped on hot tea and am now working on a quart of Gatorade.  I’ve sat and stared blankly.  I’ve read my email.  I’ve railed at the powers that be that didn’t put the Ohio State game on local ABC stations.  I’ve coughed when I’ve made the mistake of breathing deeply.  I’ve considered what I might ram into my ears to stop that maddening itch.  And I’ve reminded myself that a good plant owner would water those poor dessicated orchids.

Oh, and I’ve petted my cat.  Or rather, he came and rubbed himself under my hand and head-butted me, which is close enough for him because he isn’t the brightest crayon in the box.

Mr. Sparky made me homemade blueberry buttermilk pancakes and Bob Evan’s maple sausages for brunch.   He would have done that even if I didn’t feel like I’d been hit by a semi, but it was nice to not have to stand in front of the cabinet and decide what sort of cereal I was going to eat, because frankly, I don’t have the energy for that sort of nonsense today.

The thing is, sometimes a person is sick, and other times a person just doesn’t feel well.  And it’s more of the latter for me, really, at least at this point.  I don’t feel well, I don’t feel normal, this isn’t pleasant, but as long as I’m not wracked with fever and I can breathe reasonably well and I’m not throwing up my guts, it’s hard to call myself sick.

Then again, when you’re so dingo-headed that you put a kettle of water on the stove for tea and wonder why it’s taking so long to heat, only to find out you forgot to turn on the burner…

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 25, 2011 8:53 am

    Praying you feel better soon! Don’t worry, even when I am feeling well I have been known to put something in the microwave and come back to wonder why it’s not hot only to see the time that I entered still flashing because I never hit start.

Leave a Reply

