Skip to content

Cruisin’ down the road

September 30, 2011

Road trips can be fun, especially when you know there will be interesting stops along the way. Today’s stop found me, along with Mr. Sparky, two of the Sparkettes, and the GrandSpark, in Long Beach, Mississippi. I’ve never been to Long Beach, CA, but something tells me the two resemble each other about as much as a pipe cleaner resembles a basketball. It’s a small southern town on the Gulf of Mexico. And in that small town one will find the fine establishment known as Darwell’s Cafe. Darwell Cafe
Darwell’s was visited by Guy Fieri for the Food Network program Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives. I would say that Darwell’s was mostly a dive, but holy macaroli– what a fine dive it was! Each of us had an incredibly delicious dinner that was well-prepared and reasonably priced. We’d gladly go again.

A bonus was that there was a classic car cruise-in happening in Long Beach. We pulled in and parked between two beautiful cruising vessels, convertibles complete with tail fins. Beauty. But Mr. Sparky and Sparkette nearly fainted when we turned around and saw these:

20110930-223430.jpg

They tell me these are Shelby Cobras. Rare, apparently. That means little to me, I’m afraid. I just think they’re rather cute.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2011 6:05 pm

    I LOVE that show! I wish I could visit every place he has gone! So, what did you have?

    • October 2, 2011 9:21 pm

      I had a prime rib sandwich. Alan had a smoked pork sandwich. Hannah had red beans and rice. Liv had something called a Yeager Burger, which was a couple large Italian meatballs over mashed potatoes and covered in a luscious mushroom gravy. It was ultimate comfort food! Then we all split a giant brownie for dessert, knowing that we were going to have frozen yogurt with Hope later that night.

Leave a Reply

