Skip to content

Book or movie?

October 5, 2011
tags:

It took me long enough, but I finally finished The Help last night.  It was a really good read.  It wasn’t exactly like the film; there was more to the book.  But now that I’ve finished the book I have to say I’m quite impressed by how well done the film really was.  Even though there were differences, the differences didn’t detract from the quality of either the book or the film.  That’s rare.  Nine times out of ten I will prefer the book and think that key parts were left out.  Not so this time.

If you’ve not read the book, read it.  If you’ve not seen the movie, see it.  It doesn’t even matter which order you do it because both can stand on their own.  But they aren’t exactly the same, so definitely do both.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Joann permalink
    October 5, 2011 9:26 pm

    My brother and I were talking over the whole book or movie thing while I was in KS. I am the type of person that doesn’t have to read the book before the movie. Each are completely rated on their own. I realize that not everything in the book can make it to the movie. Some times it just doesn’t translate well to the big screen. I try hard to reserve judgement. Still looking forward seeing “The Help”, loved the book.

Leave a Reply

