Skip to content

Putting it another way

October 10, 2011

After five days of working, I finally had a day off today.  I like my job, but I also like my life and I don’t want to ever get the two confused.

I’ve never had that “one thing” I am dying to do for the rest of my life.  When I was a little kid I never knew what to say when adults asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up.  I could never think of anything that sounded like it would be fun to do forever.  I still can’t.

I have little tolerance for being bored.  Fortunately, I find plenty of things interesting.  It’s just that after a while they don’t usually stay interesting.  One of the things I like about my job right now is that every customer brings something new and different to my day.  And I like unpacking freight when it’s full of new merchandise.   It’s like a box of Christmas, even in April.

The things I love to do best all have a central theme in common:  creativity.   I love artistic creativity, literary creativity, relational creativity, creative problem-solving…if it’s truly creative, it’s probably not boring because there’s always something new to be seen and experienced.  And creativity is one of the things I admire most about God, too.  He is absolutely brilliant when it comes to creativity.  The very first thing we see Him do in the scriptures is create.  He created the heavens and the earth and everything in them, He created the laws of nature, and then He created mankind in His own image.  And we know that His image is one of deep eternal creativity, which means that expressing creativity is part of expressing the image of God.

When I create, I’m doing God Stuff.  How cool is that?

But then again…how sad it is when creativity is used to dishonor God and exalt evil and darkness.  To take an element of His image and corrupt it so that it magnifies the things that do not express His nature must be disappointing to Him.  I know He’s already got it worked out that such things will not triumph in the end, but He still must feel disappointed that we understand and value holiness so little.  He must surely be saddened that we don’t understand that it’s a gift for us and not a dreadful, dull curse to bear.

I’m enjoying the acrylic medium class I’m taking right now.  The cool thing is that it’s not just paints we get to play with.  The gels and pastes and other jars of goo are loads of fun.  We can do multimedia pieces, collages– heck, I could probably glue a small animal to a canvas, that stuff is so good.  I doubt the small animal would enjoy the experience, though.  I’d have to give that piece some name that reflects political unrest or social disturbance so that the performance art of the small animal would mirror the intended meaning of the piece.

Then again, I could just stick to pipe cleaners and keep my art small animal-friendly.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 11, 2011 6:34 am

    I needed that perspective today, “my job is not my life.” Glad your gonna stick to pipe cleaners. I’d hate for PETA to come in and mess up your creativity.

Leave a Reply

