Skip to content

Doing a little turn on the catwalk

October 17, 2011

I worked from 1-5 today and when I clocked out I headed over to Old Navy to meet with the youngest Sparkette.  Mr. Sparky was dropping her off to meet me so we could shop the sales.  The plan was to shop Old Navy, probably go get some dinner, and then head over to Ross to check out dresses for Homecoming.  I was also hoping to stop into Bed, Bath, and Beyond.  Sparkette had homework and needed a shower before bed, so I didn’t want to be out all that long.

I obviously forgot with whom I was shopping.

The Sparkette loves to shop.  LOVES to shop.  Shopping is not a frequent pastime for our family.  Some folks go shopping just to go shopping, but we don’t do that very often at all.  We go shopping when we need to go shopping.  But Sparkette, she  could shop her little heart out on a regular basis if she had the means to do so.  Especially for shoes.  The girl was obsessed with shoes from the time she could walk.  Even as a toddler she’d wander into the shoe department and start trying on shoes.  Didn’t matter if they were size 10 ladies’ shoes…she’d put her little feet in them and try to shuffle along.  She’s never gotten over that.  We’ve jokingly referred to her as Imelda Marcos for most of her life.

So we headed into Old Navy and began loading up the cart with things for Sparkette to try on.  We’ve not shopped Old Navy much for her, so neither of us had any idea what sizes to look at.  We often had two of the same item in different sizes.  After we’d made a round through the store, we headed for the fitting room.  I took in an armload of jeans, skirts, and leggings, figuring we’d get to the tops after we’d cleared out some pants.  And then we started the process.

Now personally, I am quick in a fitting room.  I get it on and if I don’t like it (which is most of the time) I get it right back off.  If I do like it, I take a little longer to truly evaluate it.  But the point is, I keep moving.

Sparkette does not keep moving.   Sparkette moves at the pace of continental drift when in the fitting room.

I always go in with her and bark at her like a drill sergeant to keep moving.  It is about as effective on her as it would be on continental drift.  I take things off hangers, I hang things back up, anything to keep the process moving.  But my tortoise-paced daughter putzes along as she dresses.  And once she dresses, the show begins.  She primps, primes, poses, vogues, shakes, shimmies, and makes faces in the mirror.  She works the catwalk right there in the confines of the fitting room.  I think she forgets I’m there.  She only has eyes for her bad self in the mirror.  My nagging voice probably just sounds like the cameras of the paparazzi to her.

Old Navy took a good hour and a half.  And then we headed towards Ross.  We were hungry but the idea was to see if Ross even had anything worth coming back for.  However, in less than 10 minutes we had 21 dresses crammed into our cart, and I figured we’d just let hunger drive us both to keep moving.

Now, imagine working the fitting room catwalk in a slew of homecoming dresses.  Flouncy, strapless, one-shoulder, form-fitting, shirred, lacy, taffeta-ed, netted, beaded, embroidered, jewel-encrusted, ribbon-ed beauty, shimmering under the fluorescent bulbs of a Ross fitting room, made all the more glamorous by a pair of mismatched footie socks.  Oh yeah.

She narrowed it down to two dresses, both of them very cute and both with their own merits.  This is where it usually gets hairy because she doesn’t actually like to make decisions like this and tries to get someone else to make them for her.  She asked my opinion.  I told her that I liked them both, which was true, and that I thought that either dress would be a fine choice, but that I liked one just a teensy bit more than the other.  And then…she chose the one I preferred slightly less.  She said she felt prettier in it.  I told her that was a fine reason to choose it.  I’m glad she did.

We then headed to the shoe department.  I think Sparkette was actually tired and hungry enough that she was willing to curb her shoe obsession somewhat.  We were in that department maybe eight minutes.  I found a cool pair of shoes and said “hey, look at these!” and she said “I think those would go with the dress”.  We looked a little more but ended up just buying the cool shoes.  They aren’t at all what I would have thought of to match the dress, but they really are cute as a button with it.  She chose well, and she didn’t choose something predictable.  I like that.  I also like that she was quick.  It was 8:30 and I’d not eaten since noon.

We skipped Bed, Bath, and Beyond, as well as a bit of personal shopping I’d hoped to do in Ross and we grabbed Chic-fil-a from the drive-thru on the way home.  We were both exhausted.

The catwalk is a lot of hard work, you know.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Joann permalink
    October 18, 2011 8:33 am

    LOOOOOVE IT!!!! Of course I think it’s because it reminds me of Bean and I. Holly is quickly coming up to follow in the shopping bug!

  2. Joann permalink
    October 18, 2011 8:34 am

    Oh, and you really need to sing that little Love word, just try to stretch it up to a soprano zing when you do it!! It’s not hard when you do it in your head!!

    • October 18, 2011 10:14 am

      I assume you mean like that guy on Say Yes To The Dress. :)

Trackbacks

  1. Window frames of the soul « Hey Sparky! What Time Is It?

Leave a Reply

