Skip to content

NOT funny

October 18, 2011

Y’all haven’t heard me complain about my computer in recent days, but you’re in luck:  this gremlin-infested box of clicking metals has once again irritated me to the brink of insanity, and you, dear Sparky Nation, get to play the role of my therapist/parole officer/dog and listen to me rant and rave.

You see, I read blogs via RSS feed in my Outlook Express window.  It’s very handy.  I subscribe to a blog and when that blogger posts something new, the blog title goes bold in my feed list.  All I have to do is glance at Outlook and it’s obvious if there’s something new to read.  Handy, indeed!

Unless, of course, the gremlins think it would be funny to somehow unsub you from your blog list.  Funnier still would be to unsub you from most of your blog list, but not all, and leave no indication which blogs are properly subbed and which ones are sending their updates to some space station orbiting some planet in a galaxy far, far away.

Of course, the gremlins claim this all comes from global warming.  Leave it to the gremlins to buy into the Al Gore party line.

I had realized that suddenly all the blogs that faithfully update daily, no longer where.  And then fellow bloggers from the Blog Challenge would post links to their blog posts on Facebook, and they’d never show up in my feed.  If I went directly to the blog, however, the new post would be there.

And so I just spent the evening revisiting and resubscribing to every blog in my feed.  Some of them had a short list of posts I’d missed.  It felt like missing episodes of my favorite program.  Except I don’t know that I have a favorite program.  But I do enjoy my fellow bloggers and I miss their blogs when they take breaks from writing.

I wish someone would make an anti-gremlin powder or something that I could sprinkle around my computer.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Joann permalink
    October 19, 2011 12:03 am

    I absolutely love you! You have a way of making me giggle like crazy, even on my not so great days!!

  2. October 19, 2011 2:56 pm

    Might I suggest using igoogle as your blog reader instead?

    • October 19, 2011 3:40 pm

      But wouldn’t that end up being another place I’d have to go specifically to see if there are any blogs tor read? That is why I’ve not used other blog readers up to this point. It’s just easier to have it right there with my email. In theory.

      • Joann permalink
        October 19, 2011 4:18 pm

        Lisa, I have switched completely to Google. I use gmail, which I love, I use the web browser, and the RSS feeds. I love that it’s all one program. I’m also a big firefox user.

        • October 19, 2011 4:22 pm

          I use FireFox too, but never cared for Google’s Chrome. Gmail is my junk/business/shopping mail, but I prefer OE for my personal mail. I’ll take a look at their setup, though.

          • Joann permalink
            October 19, 2011 4:27 pm

            I don’t use chrome either, just the regular one. I bet these kitten farts would scare the gremlins off!!

Leave a Reply

