Skip to content

Speechless isn’t the same as quiet

October 20, 2011
tags:

Some days I really don’t have anything to say.  It’s not that there aren’t things I could say.  And maybe there are even things I should say.  But for whatever reason, my brain punches out and I stop thinking in words.  It makes it a little difficult to hold meaningful conversations, or even just communicate things like “the dishes in the dishwasher are clean”, which, while not particularly deep, is still rather important.  Especially if you’re needing a fork and the drawer is empty.

You’d think the news of the day would inspire words.  Have you seen any of it?

Moammar Gadhafi was killed by rebel forces.  There seems to be a rush to put the most graphic photos and videos possible on the news and internet.

Crazy dude in Ohio who kept exotic animals opened up their cages and freed them and then committed suicide.  We’re talking lions, tigers, and bears…most of which had to be killed rather than risk them eating some lady going to the mailbox or a kid at a school bus stop.

Lindsay Lohan gets her probation revoked yesterday and has to pay $100,000 bond as a result of failing to show up for the community service that was supposed to keep her out of jail.  And then today she was late for her first day of another round of community service.

Rick Perry and Mitt Romney don’t like each other.  I can see their points.  I don’t really care for either of them myself.

Seriously…what do you say to all this craziness?  What words are there for such a warped and crooked generation?

On days like this the words escape me and are replaced with a moaning in my chest, one that I may not hear with physical ears but can feel with everything in me.  It’s not that life is all bad, because it isn’t.  How could I ever think so with that GrandSpark smiling up at me with big, unblinking eyes?  But when I look at the sort of things that demand public attention and how readily the public gobbles them up, I feel the weight of how sick this world is and how fast that sickness is spreading.  And then I consider the extreme lengths God went to in order to rescue us from our own sickness, and I can’t begin to fathom what the moan in His chest sounds like.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Joann permalink
    October 20, 2011 9:16 pm

    First of all, I knew nothing about Gadhafi being killed. I did know about the exotic animals in Ohio, but only because someone turned the news on and left the room, when I walked in that is the story that was on. I caught something else on TV. Mitt Romney being yelled at by Rick Perry. I didn’t even know which one was which. I don’t watch the news if I can help it. The same thing happens to me when I see it, it makes a feeling build like you are describing. I think we just make God so sad with our nonsense. But you are right about that baby making it all better. I look at how wonderful my girls are and it makes me feel better. I watch the kitties playing and I feel better. But what makes me feel the best of all, is seeing that even in this depraved, sick, world, the Holy Spirit is still working to bring people to Himself!!

  2. October 21, 2011 7:01 am

    The world definitely is full of crazy! I wonder if people sometimes do crazy things like this to “leave their mark” on the world?! I think I’d rather leave a mark of “time invested in someone”, kindness, caring, helpfulness, etc….

Leave a Reply

