Skip to content

Again?

October 22, 2011

Well, my one-day reprieve from the RSS feed issues is definitely over.  Today most of my subscriptions are broken again.   This computer has something weird going on in just about every way these days.

Since several people have recommended I try Google’s blog reader, I am attempting to do exactly that.  Thus far it’s been a tedious and confusing venture.  And I haven’t yet figured out how this is going to work in the long run.  When I click on the reader, I am overwhelmed by things I really don’t want to see.  I just want to see what is new, not the past six months’ worth of posts.  There is probably a way to do it.  I just haven’t gotten there yet.

I also don’t know how long it will take me to adjust to the requirement that I purposefully go look for new blog posts to read.  I am used to being able to see them at a glance in my Outlook Express.  While I do have a Gmail account, I still have to click into an entirely different screen to see if there’s anything new in the feed.  If I only sat down to read posts every now and then, that wouldn’t be so bad, but I try to keep up with them throughout the day.  Can’t always do it, but I try.

I’m also wondering just how long it’s going to take me to transfer my feed list to Google.  Though I try to keep my list pared down, I still have quite a few to list, and let’s face it…I type as if I have crossed eyes and seven fingers on one hand and two on the other.

You think I’m kidding, don’t you?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2011 11:24 pm

    I wish everyone would blog in wordpress. It is so easy to follow on my phone. I haven’t ever been able to figure out Google reader. Good luck!

  2. Joann permalink
    October 23, 2011 10:04 am

    Lisa, the easiest way is to open each of the blogs that you follow now and then open Google reader. (sorry if you have already figured this out, if I were there, I would just do it for you) Anyway, select the address of the blog in the url bar, go to Google reader, click add subscription, and then paste in the address, then click add and close the blog that you just copied. That is the simplest way that I have found to do it. All of my blogspot blogs were on there and now all my wordpress blogs have been added. I think, but I am still looking, that there is a setting to have the blog roll emailed to you. That is how I have wordpress set up, but we shall see!

    • October 23, 2011 2:16 pm

      That’s what I’m doing, but lawsy, it’s taking forever.

Leave a Reply

