Skip to content

Row by row

November 6, 2011
tags:

I didn’t plant any veggies or herbs this year.  I had volunteer basil and chives from last year, and that’s it.  Last year I also planted four jalapeno plants in containers on my deck, which gave us more jalapenos than we could eat, though with the help of a recipe for oven-baked/grilled poppers, we sure tried.  This year I knew I would be too busy to take care of them during the summer, so I didn’t bother.  Boy, have I ever missed having fresh jalapenos right outside my door.  This time last year I was still pulling in stragglers, and they were packing plenty of heat, too.

I wish I could grow a few nice veggies here, but the only thing that isn’t bothered by squirrels or mystery disease seems to be the jalapenos.  I’d love to grow some tasty tomatoes, but the squirrels REALLY like those and so I’ve given up even trying.

When I was a kid we always had a big garden.  Our extended families either had large gardens or lived on farms, so during the summer there were tons of fresh veggies to be had at our house.

I hated almost every single one of them, to the point of gagging.

Radishes and fresh corn and potatoes were really about all I could stomach back then.  I’m still picky and there are a lot of veggies I don’t care for, but there are also plenty that I like a lot.  But back in those days I dreaded the nights my mom would say that we were having creamed tomatoes on biscuits for dinner.  Or vegetable soup.

Now I wish I had access to some of those old fashioned tomatoes that were easy to find but I’d never touch.  They weren’t considered fancy heirloom tomatoes; they were just seeds in an envelope from last year. No big deal.

If someone had walked the garden rows with me when I was eight and pointed to various veggies and said “someday you’re going to love that!”, I would have thought them totally nuts.  Though I have to tell you…creamed tomatoes on biscuits and vegetable soup still sound rather awful to me.  But I could probably get down a bite without gagging.

Probably.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2011 11:07 am

    I haven’t planted any vegetables this year either. However, next year I plan for it to be a different story! In fact, after the holidays are over I’m going to get the materials to build my garden boxes. I plan to turn 1/4th of my yard into garden boxes that will be fenced off so the doggies can’t get to them. You are welcome to have some space in my garden area (once I get it built)…in fact, if you want to help me build the boxes that would be cool too :)))

    I was a weird kid and absolutely LOVED vegetables…spinach, broccoli, peppers, tomatoes…ate them like apples, right from the garden. But my favorites were the peas…snap open those pods and eat those peas right from the shell…mmmmm so good!

    • November 7, 2011 11:11 am

      I saw a gardening box system on the Steamy Kitchen blog that I keep mulling over. I seriously thought of investing in a great little greenhouse that Lowe’s carried but in the end decided it was more money than I was ready to spend. The idea of planting in your garden is nice, but I know the reality of me coming over there regularly enough to take care of what I plant is pretty much nil! Haha!

Leave a Reply

