Skip to content

Space invader

November 20, 2011

The Big Desk computer is back home from the computer hospital where The Computer Whisperer performed a miraculous brain transplant on it.  It now does what I tell it to do, and right away.

Maybe we should try this on certain teenagers I know?  Or not.

The computer wasn’t the only delinquent piece of technological equipment in the house.  Our printer had been behaving badly for quite some time.  When the Big Desk computer made a trip to the compute hospital, it became even more evident that the issues with the printer were indeed with the printer and not spill-over from a naughty computer.  So Mr. Sparky finally broke down and bought a new printer.

The new printer looks like it should be manned by Lt. Uhura and that it is potentially capable of interspace travel and molecular something-or-other.  It is sleek and black and has pretty blue lights on it, plus an LCD window that tells you what sort of coffee it’s preparing.  At least I think that’s what it’s for.  I guess it might also be a radar screen.  But the best part of the new printer?  The magical fairies.

The magical fairies have replaced cords and cables.  When something needs printed, the computer sends the magical fairies to the printer to tell it what to print.  And it does!

Look, Ma…no cables!

I haven’t used this computer to print anything yet but I really want to.  I want to make the magical fairies fly.  I want them to do my bidding and tell the printer to print something for me.

Or make me some coffee.

Or beam me up.

I’m not picky.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2011 9:36 am

    The magic fairies are wonderful. But I’ve found they are at war with the the computer gremlins. Must be a good story there somewhere.

  2. Mr. Sparky permalink
    November 21, 2011 8:24 pm

    The coolest part is any computer in our house can print directly to it – my MacBook, Sparkette’s antique Gateway, the recently resuscitated Big Desk Computer – doesn’t matter – load the drivers and you’re good-to-go. I think it’s freakin’ AWESOME!

    However, I have to downgrade it as a barista – I’m sad to say it does not make very good coffee. It left bits in my coffee cup.

Leave a Reply

