Skip to content

Take that, brass monkeys!

November 28, 2011
tags: ,

It’s the end of November and I’m finally cold.  Even as recent as yesterday I was starting to think it wasn’t going to happen this year.  But tonight, it’s chilly and I’m wearing my fuzzy PJ pants and my fleece slippers and a long-sleeved shirt and I’m thinking maybe I need some more clothes on.

This is not a complaint.

Don’t get me wrong– I am not one of those people who would thrive in the Arctic tundra, locked in by snow and ice for a good portion of the year.  Shoot, the winters in South Dakota were about three months too long for me.  But now that it’s cold, I am ready to decorate for Christmas and make Chex mix and wear clothing that actually completely covers my arms and legs.  I am ready to drink steaming mugs of hot tea.  I am ready to actually move about.

You see…here in Florida, summer is the time for my personal hibernation.  Just let me have an air conditioned spot where I can hunker down and not move until it cools off, and I’m happy.  Leave the lights off…they generate heat.  And don’t give me hot things to drink.  If it’s not in tall glass filled with ice, forget about it.

So although being cold is its own kind of miserable, I’m quite happy to be it for now, and it’s fine with me if it stays around until next March.  It’s time for my glass to be filled with Winter Whine.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 28, 2011 9:40 pm

    I prefer a bit of frost over a “glisten” myself. Maybe it’s because I was named after a Sweater Girl!

Leave a Reply

