Skip to content

Public service announcement

December 6, 2011

I would like to take this opportunity to say that I hate science projects with the fire of a thousand suns.

It’s not that I hate science. I believe in science (quick!  Name that movie!).

I think all sort of scientific things are fascinating.  I am partial to biological sciences, myself.  But that does not mean I want to do a project.  And that is what happens when kids have science projects, because science projects are actually parent projects, even when the kid is involved and motivated.

And I hate science projects with the decibels of an exploding star.  And the breath of million walruses.  And the pain of 726 paper cuts, dunked in rubbing alcohol.

Hope I didn’t sugar-coat that so much that you couldn’t understand how I really feel.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Susan Ford permalink
    December 7, 2011 6:02 am

    I feel your pain. My daughter’s 5th grade teacher loves projects and elaborate book reports and specific directions of byzantine length and complexity of all kinds. And after working all day, I just love to come home and do 5th grade again in the evenings. (Insert sarcasm here.)

Leave a Reply

