Skip to content

Yes or no, is or isn’t, did or didn’t

December 13, 2011

I don’t like cilantro.

I don’t like plastic shoes.

I don’t like drinking out of Styrofoam cups.

But nothing, nothing infuriates me more than being lied to.

Lying  and deception are disrespectful and incredibly self-centered. They erode trust and break down relationships.  The damage they cause isn’t easy to repair because lies echo through relationships like voices echo off the walls of the Grand Canyon.  I can forgive you for the lie, but I have enough wisdom to know that if you’ve lied to me once, you are capable of doing it again.  Remorse at being caught in a lie or disappointment in yourself for realizing that you’ve lied is not the same thing as repentance.

I am worth the truth at all times.  I do not need your protection via lies.  I have a God far bigger than that and He IS truth.  You don’t need to protect yourself with lies, either, for the exact same reason.

Just a little something  to keep in mind the next time you’re tempted to give reality a twist.

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 14, 2011 8:35 am

    Amen! Preach it Sister!

Leave a Reply

